chasingthecrazies

Chasing my crazy dream in the writing world…

MONDAY MUSINGS: TIME TO BE INSPIRED October 17, 2016

Filed under: Blog,Publishing,writing craft — chasingthecrazies @ 9:17 am
Tags: , , ,

 

Monday Musings Image

 

 

 

 

Hard, stone cold truth-I’m in a huge writing slump. This summer I struggled with a major revision I could never seem to wrap my head around. I don’t know if this is the world telling me the changes are wrong, or if it’s my brain throwing up a huge stop sign shouting “you’re going in the wrong direction, kid.”

 

 

At some point, you have to stop fighting the reality of things and realize you’re at a crossroads. That’s it’s time to take a step back and rethink that story. Start working on something new to clear the cobwebs away and get those creative juices flowing. Unfortunately, I’m not quite there yet. I’m still kind of kicking around in the doldrums to figure out what’s next.

 

 

As I seem to be in some sort of limbo, I’ve been on social media a lot lately. In the past few days, I’ve seen two things on Twitter that have started to motivate me again. Both of these instances were quotes from writers about their struggles before finding success in the publishing world. I have to admit these kind of stories are like a shot of adrenaline for me. I see myself in these writers. Struggling for years. Wanting to give up, but the muse never quite letting go.

 

 

These stories give me hope and I want that hope to be spread to other struggling writers. This gave me the idea to start a new series here on Chasing The Crazies. I’m going to start reaching out to writers (who I know have struggled in the past before finding success) and ask them to share, in their own words, how they managed to hang in there and never give up.

 

 

With all the horrible crap floating around social media these days, I want to put something out there that inspires others. Motivates them to hang onto their dream. This new series will be called, FIRE IT UP FRIDAY, and I hope it will encourage writers both young and old to persevere until they find success.

 

 

With that being said, this is a call to writers who would be willing to share their story. I want to hear about your years in the query trenches before finding an agent or how many books you had out on sub before one finally sold! If you don’t have that story yet, but know of someone who does, please help me spread the word.

 

 

If you are willing to share, please reach out to me on social media or here on the blog. I’d love to post your story and hopefully inspire thousands of others!

 

 

6 Responses to “MONDAY MUSINGS: TIME TO BE INSPIRED”

  1. Susan Paxton Says:

    All of your series are so helpful. I know this one will be too. I’m also struggling with a difficult revision, but making a little progress. Baby steps.

  2. Tracy Abell Says:

    I’m sorry you were/still-kinda-are in a slump, and applaud your efforts to bring enthusiasm to others.

  3. heatherjacksonwrites Says:

    I feel this! My situation sounds much like yours – struggling with revision for what feels like waaaay too long and wondering if it’s a sign. Ugh. So I think this new series sounds like a welcome bit of positivity! Hopefully in the future I will be able to volunteer for the series, but right now I’m still in the struggling stage. 😉

  4. I love this idea! Considering how long I’ve been slugging through the trenches, every time I read a success story that comes after a long haul, it gives me new hope. And I know you are going to figure your story out. The solution’s there. You’ll find it, whether it’s now or another idea sparks and you come back to it later. Hang in there!

  5. I think this will be a very inspiring series!

  6. mirkabreen Says:

    This summer has been tough and dry, sister. I’m with you there. I stuck to slugging along because it is the only way I know to get from under, and you know what? The wheels are turning again. So will yours.


Leave a Reply

