chasingthecrazies

Chasing my crazy dream in the writing world…

QUITE THE QUERY – Rachel Lynn Solomon and FINGERS CROSSED September 9, 2016

 

 

QuiteTheQuery

 

 

 

 

 

If you ask any writer about the process of connecting with their agent (or publisher), the majority will say the most difficult part was querying. Not only the actual process of sending out the letters/emails, but formulating the query itself. In fact, I’ve heard more than a few authors say writing their query took them almost as long as drafting their book!

 

Some people have the talent of being able to summarize their book in a few sentences, but for those who don’t I wanted to provide a resource where writers could learn what works, and what doesn’t, in a query.

 

With that in mind, I’m pleased to share today’s successful query from Rachel Lynn Solomon. This great query connected her with her agent, Laura Bradford.

 

 

 

 

Seventeen-year-old viola prodigy Adina only feels whole with a bow in her hand. Even though her instrument is usually in the background, she’s determined to become a soloist. Her fraternal twin sister, Tovah, has her own ambitions: MIT, med school, become a surgeon. 

 

But the most important test they’ll take isn’t an audition or a college entrance exam. It’s a genetic test for Huntington’s, a rare degenerative disease that slowly steals control of the body and mind. Huntington’s is a death sentence, and Adina and Tovah have spent the past few years watching it make their mother stumble and hallucinate and forget their names.

 

When the test results reveal that one twin will develop Huntington’s and one won’t, they self-destruct in different ways. One sister realizes testing negative doesn’t give her the freedom she thought it would, and her guilt sabotages her future plans. The other realizes testing positive means she can do whatever she wants — no matter the consequences. And then one concocts a dangerous plan that could change their family forever.

 

FINGERS CROSSED, a dual POV YA contemporary novel, is complete at 90,000 words. It will appeal to fans of Corey Ann Haydu, Amy Reed, and Nina LaCour.

 

 

 

 

Fun Tidbit:

 

Here are some query stats:

Queries sent: 80

Requests: 26

Offers of rep: 3

 

 

 

 

rachelsolomonRachel Lynn Solomon is a Seattle native who loves rainy days, tap dancing, red lipstick, and new wave music. Her debut contemporary YA novel, FINGERS CROSSED, will be out from Simon & Schuster/Simon Pulse in spring 2018, with a second book to follow in 2019. She’s represented by Laura Bradford of Bradford Literary Agency. You can find Rachel online at rachelsolomonbooks.com and on Twitter @rlynn_solomon.

Advertisements
 

3 Responses to “QUITE THE QUERY – Rachel Lynn Solomon and FINGERS CROSSED”

  1. this is such a great example of how to handle the results of a mystery without spoiling the reveal. Which I have really struggled with. Bookmarking for later. 😀 Thank you for sharing, Rachel and Amy!

  2. Susan T. Paxton Says:

    Rachel is great–a real role model for other writers. She is accessible and generous of her time. Can’t wait to read this book. Sounds fascinating.

  3. I love how this query tells you so much and yet so little at the same time. Brilliant! Also, it sounds completely heart-wrenching. I both want to read and am afraid to.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s