chasingthecrazies

Chasing my crazy dream in the writing world…

Monday Musings: A New Path April 4, 2016

 

 

Over the last couple of years I’ve found great joy in not only writing, but in connecting with other authors in the publishing community. This blog has afforded me many incredible opportunities to reach out to various writers at all stages of publication. It’s also allowed me to talk with and interview agents, as well as help co-create a contest I’m tremendously proud of.

 

 

One of the most fortunate things that has come out of all this blogging is the chance to read for others. Some have been beta reads. Others have turned into full-fledged critique partners. Having a fellow writer trust you with their work is an incredible honor and one I take VERY seriously.

 

 

In this last round of critiques for my mentees from Sun vs. Snow, something clicked inside me. It was an overwhelming sense of calm, but also a bubbling excitement. A whisper of a path I had never really considered until that moment – editing.

 

 

Thinking that maybe I was just thrilled with the work my mentees were creating, I decided to back up and give this new idea some time to percolate. As the days and weeks went by though, the idea kept poking at me. Needling me to take a leap.

 

 

So as cautious me always does, I started to do my research. I looked into various opportunities and started asking questions. I spent time considering all the options, and what I thought I could personally contribute to the writing community.

 

 

When I finally felt ready, I reached out to the lovely Kim Graff. She and her talented cohorts, Maria Ann Green, and Megan Lally agreed to let me join them in their efforts to help fellow writers hone and polish their work. So as of today, I am now offering my services over at Wild Things Editing along with these wonderful ladies. My focus will be on my true loves: Young Adult and Middle Grade, but I will also be open to helping with query packages or manuscript critiques for Women’s Fiction, as well as Contemporary Romance (New Adult).

 

 

If you think we might be a good fit, I’d love for you to stop by the Wild Things Editing website and check out my full bio and services.

 

 

Thanks as always for being great friends, readers, and an amazing support system. Your constant good wishes and positive feedback about this blog has given me the courage to take on this new challenge.

 

 

Have a great week!

 

Amy

 

 

 

14 Responses to “Monday Musings: A New Path”

  1. laurenkdentonbooks Says:

    Congratulations Amy! New ventures are exciting and this sounds like a great fit for you! (Along with your own writing too, of course!)

  2. jryates Says:

    Congratulations!!

  3. Sounds great, Amy!

  4. Paula Gesmundo Says:

    Best of luck in this new endeavor, Amy. You’ll be great at it!

  5. Karen Mahara Says:

    That’s AWESOME, Amy! Congrats! 🙂

  6. Congratulations, Amy! What an exciting new step!


Leave a Reply

