chasingthecrazies

Chasing my crazy dream in the writing world…

SvS 6: Blue Serenity – YA Fantasy February 22, 2016

Filed under: contest,Literary Agent,Publishing — chasingthecrazies @ 5:55 am
Tags: , , , , ,

 

 

Title: BLUE SERENITY

Category/Genre: YA Fantasy

Word Count: 88,000

 

 

 

My Main Character would use sun or snow to battle their biggest obstacle: 

 

 

I’ve never seen snow, but its frigid beauty fascinates me. The weather on my homeworld remains ever the same—soggy and sticky and steamy. In a vision I have learned that our telepathic enemy plans to use the animals of our world against us, to kill us all. If only it would snow, we might have hope of slowing the enemy before I’m forced to reveal my curse.

 

 

 

Query:

 

 

Seventeen-year-old Princess Serenity has lived in fear since the first time she used her telepathic ability to communicate with animals. Her odd powers mark her as one of the enemy, an offense punishable by death.

 

 

When she foresees the destruction of her world by the telepaths, Serenity faces a devastating choice: join the enemy who offers the acceptance and belonging she’s always craved, or risk using her unique blend of powers to fight for her people. Her choice is complicated by a handsome warrior sworn to destroy all threats to her people. He professes to love her, but is he merely attempting to gain her trust in order to betray her?

 

 

One thing is certain: Serenity is the only one who can save her people—if she can find the courage, and if they don’t kill her first.

 

 

Set in a futuristic world similar to LUNAR CHRONICLES, BLUE SERENITY is a standalone novel with series potential that will appeal to fans of Victoria Aveyard’s RED QUEEN series.

 

 

 

First 250 words:

 

 

The sapphire blue dress for my coming-of-age ceremony fit as I expected—soft, smooth, and suffocating. The perfect dress for the perfect healer princess. Or in my case, the perfect imposter. And by the time our five moons had risen, everyone would know the truth.

 

 

For the tenth time, I attempted to wind my hair into an elaborate knot, but the long black strands slipped and fell through my shaking fingers. I yanked out the remaining hair pins and took a long breath. The scent of roses, sweet and strong, filled my head, but did nothing to calm my nerves. I shoved open my balcony doors. Above, two moons already peeked over the western horizon. So little time left.

 

 

Below my balcony, healers with dark robes and darker expressions roamed the palace patios and gardens. Several inspected the dozens of banquet tables smothered in both a food and flower invasion. On the far side of the gardens, past the gazebo and toward the lake, white floral ropes led to the raised platform where I’d take the oath. A banner, hung crooked across the platform, read, “Wellness and peace to Princess Serenity.” But a lopsided sign was the least of my worries.

 

 

The oath would be the end of me.

 

 

On one of the patios below my window, Elder Jasen paced, arms crossed over his bony chest. The setting sun slashed red across his face. He glanced my way, eyes narrowed. “What a waste, throwing a party for that half-breed mongrel.”

 

 

2 Responses to “SvS 6: Blue Serenity – YA Fantasy”

  1. I see the light! (and feel the warmth). I would love to take a look at the full manuscript. Please feel free to send it along to andrea@harveyklinger.com as a word attachment. Please put the query in the email and Sun vs Snow in the subject line. Thanks!

  2. Roseanne Wells Says:

    It’s getting hot in here! YA heroine who can kick ass in a dress?! 50 pages to Team Sun!


Leave a Reply

