chasingthecrazies

Chasing my crazy dream in the writing world…

Monday Musings: Making A First Impression January 25, 2016

 

This weekend as I was scrolling through Twitter I saw a post that stopped me cold. The tweet was from the SDSU Writers Conference where the panel discussion was on the topic of querying. Here’s what made me shudder: out of the 5,000-10,000 queries agents receive per year, their chances of taking you on as a client are 0.1%. Wow…just Wow!

 

When I first started querying many years ago, thankfully I did not know these odds. All I knew was I had a finished book and wanted an agent. As a newbie, I scoured the internet for comprehensive information on how to write the perfect query. Except for a few posts on Writer’s Digest, there was a sparsity of info on how to properly format your query, or how to find agents that rep. your type of work.

 

Because I was completely frustrated by the process, I started culling info on the basics of querying and started my Query 101 series. This had a tremendous response, but readers still wanted more. I racked my brain trying to figure out how else I could help. After talking to a few friends, I realized writers were yearning for something more tangible, so I started my Quite The Query series, sharing successful queries that connected writers to their agents.

 

To this day, I’m still thinking of more ways to help writers in the trenches. It’s a difficult process (that I know VERY WELL), but by continuing to share new info I hope it will lessen the pain a little. You only get one chance to send that query and with the right information you have a better chance of rising above that 0.1 %.

 

I’ve shared the links below for both of the series. As always, if you have questions, or would like for me to explore a new writing topic, please let me know. Good luck out there and stay strong. If you keep working, and submitting, chances are it WILL happen for you!

 

 

 

Query 101B

Query 101 series – information on query structure, body copy, research, personalization, formatting & handling “The Call”.

 

 

 

QuiteTheQuery

 

Quite The Query – Authors share their successful queries. Posts include Picture Book, Middle Grade, Young Adult, New Adult and Adult queries.

 

 

 

 

2 Responses to “Monday Musings: Making A First Impression”

  1. Thanks for sharing this info! Querying is such a challenging process. We writers will take all the help we can get.


Leave a Reply

