chasingthecrazies

Chasing my crazy dream in the writing world…

Monday Musings: Hellos and Goodbyes December 21, 2015

Filed under: Blog,writing craft — chasingthecrazies @ 6:47 am
Tags: , , ,

Blinking Lights

 

 

 

This time of year I always take a social media break. I do this for several reasons. One, I want to be present in the moment with my family. It’s nice to forget the outside world for a little bit and concentrate on what’s going on right in front of my eyes. Second, it allows me to take a breather from the constant pressure I put on myself. To write. To create. To please everyone around me: CPs, my writing group, my agent, everyone who may even get the slightest peek at my writing. This self-imposed pressure is created entirely by me. It comes with the problem of being a total “Type A” personality and always wanting to please and succeed.

 

 

Knowing this break was coming, I started thinking about the past year. What I’ve learned and accomplished. Things I want to repeat, and other things I’m bound and determined to avoid. This got me thinking about what I want to say “hello” to in 2016, and items I want to kick to the curb from 2015.

 

 

For the goodbyes…

 

 

I want to say sayonara to self-doubt, comparing my writing path to others, and taking myself too seriously. The goal is to remember that this writing gig is a gift. Not a punishment. Not a chore. But a real blessing that allows me to create every single day.

 

 

For the hellos…

 

 

2016 is a time to welcome growth. To step outside my comfort zone and try new things. Write in a new category and genre. Put together a holiday novella. Embrace the thought that my publishing path may not follow a traditional route (and that’s okay).  All these things come with a sense of wonderment and joy. Things that have been missing too frequently in my life.

 

 

For you my readers, I wish a truck full of hellos and goodbyes. I hope each and every one of you can let go of what wasn’t working in 2015 and open your hearts to new ideas, opportunities, and challenges in 2016. I have a feeling it’s going to be a wonderful year for all of us.

 

 

Happy Holidays and a joyous New Year to everyone!

 

 

Love,

 

Amy

 

 

 

 

 

11 Responses to “Monday Musings: Hellos and Goodbyes”

  1. Nancy Tandon Says:

    “…this writing gig is a gift. Not a punishment.” Excellent mantra to start 2016!

  2. I love the idea of a social media break this time of year. 🙂 happy holidays

  3. crbwriter Says:

    Down with self-doubt! Cheers to growth, joy, and choosing to write for the pleasure of it! I’m about to take a break, too. See you in the new year!

  4. Hello Amy! I think it’s wise to keep your heart (and your options!) open to whatever may come. I’ve been doing the same thing. Happy holidays to you and may it be the best new year yet. 🙂

  5. mirkabreen Says:

    “I want to say sayonara to self-doubt, comparing my writing path to others, and taking myself too seriously. ”

    ^All worthy goals. Amen. Three times, Amen.

  6. laurenkdentonbooks Says:

    Amen to the social media break! I’m trying to do the same. Merry Christmas to you and yours and enjoy your break!

  7. Hurray on your goodbyes and hellos! I’m so glad to have met you this year, and I wish you a wonderful 2016!


Leave a Reply

