chasingthecrazies

Chasing my crazy dream in the writing world…

A Grateful Post November 25, 2015

Filed under: Blog,Inspiration,Publishing — chasingthecrazies @ 11:52 am
Tags: ,

Turkey 2

 

 

 

 

 

Hello all,

 

The blog has been a little quiet as of late because I’m knee-deep in revisions on one book, while trying to desperately finish a first draft on another before year end (I know, I need to have my head examined over this choice!)

 

But while things may slow down until after the New Year, I wanted to take this opportunity to share a few things I am grateful for:

 

 

 

The Writing Community

 

 

This year has had its ups and downs for me, but no matter my mood the writing community has always been supportive. Sending me happy emojis when I was having a bad day or words of encouragement if the words weren’t flowing. Whatever my day may be like, I know I can always count on my writer friends and that keeps me going!

 

 

 

Finding My Passion

 

 

Most people go their entire lives never finding the one thing that lights them up. Gives them drive and forces them to see beyond their boundaries. I may have come to it later than anticipated, but I’ve found that passion in writing. There is not a day that goes by that I don’t think about how lucky I am to create characters, settings, stories that fill my soul and hopefully entertain readers. It’s a magical gift that I get to explore every waking moment and seriously, that’s pretty amazing!

 

 

 

Family and Friends

 

 

They say you’re only as good as the people you surround yourself with and I truly believe this theory. When I’m struggling with a story idea it’s like one of my siblings knows because my phone rings and they’re there asking the right probing questions. When my work is on sub, I get encouraging texts from friends, reminding me to keep my chin up and that I’m loved. Publishing is a tough business, but the support I receive makes the hard days a little easier to bear.

 

 

 

Books

 

 

For me books have always been my secret escape. As a child I hid in the pages when I had a rotten day, or when I needed to be inspired. Fantastic new worlds and characters led me to this writing life. Even though I put words on paper myself, I continue to be awed by my peers who create lyrical masterpieces every day. As long as there are books in the world, we all can dare to dream.

 

 

 

Readers of this Blog

 

Many of you have been kind enough to reach out and let me know which posts have inspired you. Helped you to write that amazing query or pointed you in the direction of an amazing agent. Please continue to share you comments and stories with me. It’s because of you that I post every week.

 

 

My list could go on and on, but I do have a few pies to make!!

 

I hope you all have an amazing Thanksgiving Day filled with laughter and joyous memories. If you feel so inclined, please leave me a comment about what you’re grateful for this year. It would be nice to spread a little joy and I’d love to hear from you!

 

 

 

 

5 Responses to “A Grateful Post”

  1. Nancy Tandon Says:

    Sounds like you have your gratitude priorities all lined up! Best of luck finishing the year strong.

  2. giffmacshane Says:

    I’m utterly amazed at how much support the online writing community has given to a perfect stranger. After family, it’s the thing I’m most grateful for.

  3. mirkabreen Says:

    Amen!


Leave a Reply

