chasingthecrazies

Chasing my crazy dream in the writing world…

500TH POST!!!! November 2, 2015

Filed under: Blog,Publishing,writing craft — chasingthecrazies @ 7:16 am
Tags: , ,

Confetti500 POSTS!!!

 

 

GIVEAWAY WINDOW IS NOW CLOSED!

 

WOW!!! 500 Posts!!! This milestone has me at a total loss for words, which is quite funny for a writer. I’m not big on reminiscing, but I think in this case I must…

 

 

When I first started blogging, I never imagined I’d still be committed to it three years later. Sure, I thought I’d add a post here and there. Share something inspirational every once in a while, but then an amazing thing happened-people started reading and commenting. Those first followers meant a lot because it validated what I was trying to share in those posts: my struggles with writing my first book, my fears about it not being good enough, and, of course, the worry that agents would laugh at my work and they probably did (my first query was THE WORST!) But by sharing those ups and downs, I knew I could humanize the process of publishing. Show that you can get knocked down and get back up again-even after endless rejections.

 

 

I’ve been through it all, and shared it in my posts, not because I wanted people to feel sorry for me, but because I wanted writers to understand how difficult the process can be. I also wanted to show that with perseverance and hard work you can grab your dream!

 

 

Again, I can’t truly express how grateful I am that I can share my thoughts with you several times a week. I promise that as long as you keep reading and commenting, I will continue to post helpful insight and advice from authors and agents, as well as my own personal stories. In many ways I feel like we are all traveling this long road to success together and by sharing our triumphs and pitfalls we all become resilient and much, much stronger.

 

 

To say thank you for your years of support, I’ve got an amazing giveaway to celebrate 500 POSTS!

 

 

Here are the goodies you have a chance to win…

 

A critique of your first five pages from one of these amazing literary agents (all featured in my First Five Frenzy series):

 

Patricia Nelson (Marsal Lyon Literary)

Kirsten Carleton (The Prospect Agency)

Eric Smith (P.S. Literary)

Jessica Watterson (The Dijkstra Agency)

Rebecca Podos (Rees Literary Agency)

 

 

A query critique from one of these authors (all featured in my W.O.W. series):

 

Jen Malone (YOU’RE INVITED)

Stacey Lee (UNDER A PAINTED SKY)

Stephanie Garber (HEARTS MADE OF BLACK)

Ashley Herring Blake (SUFFER LOVE)

Gina Ciocca (LAST YEAR’S MISTAKE)

Melanie Conklin (COUNTING THYME)

 

 

One of these books from an author who has been featured on this blog:

 

 

Lia Riley – BEST WORST MISTAKE (e-book copy)

W.O.W. interview – October 8, 2014

 

 

 

Best Worst

 

 

 

Smoke jumper Wilder Kane once reveled in the rush from putting out dangerous wildfires. But after a tragic accident, he’s cut himself off from the world, refusing to leave his isolated cabin. When a headstrong beauty bursts in, Wilder finds himself craving the fire she ignites in him, but letting anyone near his darkness would be a mistake.

 

After her Hollywood life went up in smoke, Quinn Higsby decided to leave Tinseltown behind and return to Brightwater to care for her ailing father. She spends her days in a small bookstore, until her peaceful existence is up-ended by a fascinating but damaged man. Quinn is determined not to be scared off by Wilder, not once she’s experienced the heat of his passions.

 

But when an arsonist targets the community and Wilder is accused, he must confront the ghosts of his past. Will his desire for Quinn burn him up or will he be able to tame the wildness inside and rekindle a hope for their future?

 

 

 

 

A.J. Pine – ONE LIFE (e-book copy)

W.O.W. interview – March 12, 2014

 

 

 

New_OneLife.indd

 

 

Every time life throws Zoe Adler a curve ball, she changes her appearance. Freshmen year—after almost following in her mother’s alcoholic footsteps—she said good-bye to her blonde, girl-next-door image and opted for jet black hair and piercings galore. After her brother Wyatt’s death, she escapes to the city to teach a summer art program for kids. Her black hair goes blue, and she finds solace in the arms of a longtime friend, in his heart, and in his bed—but her guilt makes her unable to accept the love he wants to give.

 

Spock might be the guy to save Zoe. But when she learns the truth about his past, the edge she’s teetered on since losing Wyatt drops out from under her. The girl who kept it together for everyone finally falls apart. Now Zoe must choose between drowning in guilt about Wyatt or asking for help. But even if she gets the help she needs, Spock may not be waiting for her when she’s ready to let love in.

 

 

 

 

Heidi Schulz – (HOOK’S REVENGE – signed paperback copy!)

W.O.W. interview – December 11, 2013

 

 

 

Hooks

 

 

 

Twelve-year-old Jocelyn dreams of becoming every bit as daring as her infamous father, Captain James Hook. Her grandfather, on the other hand, intends to see her starched and pressed into a fine society lady. When she’s sent to Miss Eliza Crumb-Biddlecomb’s Finishing School for Young Ladies, Jocelyn’s hopes of following in her father’s fearsome footsteps are lost in a heap of dance lessons, white gloves, and way too much pink.

 

So when Jocelyn receives a letter from her father challenging her to avenge his untimely demise at the jaws of the Neverland crocodile, she doesn’t hesitate-here at last is the adventure she has been waiting for. But Jocelyn finds that being a pirate is a bit more difficult than she’d bargained for. As if attempting to defeat the Neverland’s most fearsome beast isn’t enough to deal with, she’s tasked with captaining a crew of woefully untrained pirates, outwitting cannibals wild for English cuisine, and rescuing her best friend from a certain pack of lost children, not to mention that pesky Peter Pan who keeps barging in uninvited.

 

The crocodile’s clock is always ticking in Heidi Schulz’s debut novel, a story told by an irascible narrator who is both dazzlingly witty and sharp as a sword. Will Jocelyn find the courage to beat the incessant monster before time runs out?

 

 

 

Sara Raasch – ICE LIKE FIRE

W.O.W. interview – May 15, 2013

 

 

 

Ice Like

 

 

 

Meira just wants her people to be safe. When Cordellan debt forces the Winterians to dig their mines for payment, they unearth something powerful and possibly dangerous: Primoria’s lost chasm of magic. Theron sees this find as an opportunity—with this much magic, the world can finally stand against threats like Angra. But Meira fears the danger the chasm poses—the last time the world had access to so much magic, it spawned the Decay. So when the king of Cordell orders the two on a mission across the kingdoms of Primoria to discover the chasm’s secrets, Meira plans to use the trip to garner support to keep the chasm shut and Winter safe—even if it means clashing with Theron. But can she do so without endangering the people she loves?

 

Mather just wants to be free. The horrors inflicted on the Winterians hang fresh and raw in Januari—leaving Winter vulnerable to Cordell’s growing oppression. When Meira leaves to search for allies, he decides to take Winter’s security into his own hands. Can he rebuild his broken kingdom and protect them from new threats?

 

As the web of power and deception weaves tighter, Theron fights for magic, Mather fights for freedom—and Meira starts to wonder if she should be fighting not just for Winter, but for the world

 

 

 

Julie Murphy -DUMPLIN’

W.O.W. interview – October 23, 2013

 

 

 

Dumplin

 

 

 

Self-proclaimed fat girl Willowdean Dickson (dubbed “Dumplin’” by her former beauty queen mom) has always been at home in her own skin. Her thoughts on having the ultimate bikini body? Put a bikini on your body. With her all-American beauty best friend, Ellen, by her side, things have always worked…until Will takes a job at Harpy’s, the local fast-food joint. There she meets Private School Bo, a hot former jock. Will isn’t surprised to find herself attracted to Bo. But she is surprised when he seems to like her back.

 

Instead of finding new heights of self-assurance in her relationship with Bo, Will starts to doubt herself. So she sets out to take back her confidence by doing the most horrifying thing she can imagine: entering the Miss Clover City beauty pageant—along with several other unlikely candidates—to show the world that she deserves to be up there as much as any twiggy girl does. Along the way, she’ll shock the hell out of Clover City—and maybe herself most of all.

 

With starry Texas nights, red candy suckers, Dolly Parton songs, and a wildly unforgettable heroine—Dumplin’ is guaranteed to steal your heart.

 

 

 

Mary Elizabeth Summer – TRUST ME, I’M TROUBLE

W.O.W. interview – June 5, 2013

 

 

 

Untitled-8

 

 

Staying out of trouble isn’t possible for Julep Dupree. She has managed not to get kicked out of her private school, even though everyone knows she’s responsible for taking down a human-trafficking mob boss—and getting St. Agatha’s golden-boy Tyler killed in the process. Running cons holds her guilty conscience at bay, but unfortunately, someone wants Julep to pay for her mistakes . . . with her life.

 

Against her better judgment, Julep takes a shady case that requires her to infiltrate a secretive organization that her long-gone mother and the enigmatic blue fairy may be connected to. Her best friend, Sam, isn’t around to stop her, and Dani, her one true confidante, happens to be a nineteen-year-old mob enforcer whose moral compass is as questionable as Julep’s. But there’s not much time to worry about right and wrong—or to save your falling heart—when there’s a contract on your head.

 

Murders, heists, secrets and lies, hit men and hidden identities . . . If Julep doesn’t watch her back, it’s her funeral. No lie

 

 

 

And last but not least, two of my favorite books from authors I admire:

 

The newly illustrated HARRY POTTER AND THE SORCERER’S STONE (It is gorgeous!!!)

CARRY ON – The latest from Rainbow Rowell

 

 

 

Here are the giveaway details:

 

Entry window is open now and will stay open until Wednesday, November 4 at 5 p.m. (EST). To enter, please leave your name in the comments along with either an email or twitter handle. If you are not a writer (thus not interested in the critiques), please note that in your comments. Only one entry per person. Giveaway is for U.S. residents only.

 

Again, many thanks for your love and support over these last years. It means A LOT to me!

 

Infinite hugs,

 

Amy

 

 

 

80 Responses to “500TH POST!!!!”

  1. cmsugiura Says:

    Love your blog. Congrats on 500 posts!
    Misa @misallaneous1

  2. Emily Paxman Says:

    Are you able to enter the giveaway for the critiques if you are international? I get why you’d want to keep posted prizes within the US, though I do have a sister who is a US resident, who I don’t think would mind if I won her a free book. 🙂

    Just in case, here’s my twitter handle: @emilyirispaxman

    Either way, a HUGE congrats on reaching 500! I’m a long time subscriber of the blog and have definitely benefited from your insightful posts.Thanks a bunch!

  3. Eliza Says:

    Thank you for the opportunity!
    @Eliza_Maslin

  4. Ann Rose Says:

    Congratulations to you! @annmrose

  5. Christy C. Says:

    Congrats!! thanks for letting us all celebrate with you!!
    -Christy C.
    @chriscalen

  6. Despina Says:

    Congratulations on 500 posts! That is quite an accomplishment. I would love to enter the contest. @despina_karras

  7. Kat Says:

    Congrats! from Kat – @kathinkel

  8. Congratulations on all the posts! Thanks for sharing so much great information. I’d love to be entered for the books. I’ll leave the critiques for others since I have an agent. 🙂 @heatherayris

  9. ljarnseth Says:

    Ooh, I want to enter the contest, too! @LisaArnseth
    And congratulations on your 500th blog post. That’s fantastic. You’ve shared so much helpful info here. 🙂

  10. Carla Cullen Says:

    Congrats! I love your w.o.w. posts! I’d love to be entered into the giveaway: @casacullen

  11. Deeba Says:

    Congratulations! I’d like to enter please! Deeba @deebazargarpur deebazargarpur@gmail.com

  12. Katie O'Shea Says:

    What a milestone!! Congratulations! Thanks for this awesome giveaway too! Katie @ktoshea 🙂

  13. Judy Egan Says:

    Congratulations! Please enter me in your contest. Thanks @JudyEgan2

  14. Heidi Peitz Says:

    Congrats on such a milestone! Here’s to 500 more!

    I’ll throw my hat in the ring for my NA Sci-Fi Romance.

    @hpeitz

  15. Hope Grietzer Says:

    500 posts is amazing! Thank you for all of your time and thoughtful effort!
    Hope
    hopefiddle@gmail.com

  16. *High five* Congrats on a very successful 3 years of posting, and for all you do for the writing community! Oh, and please enter me in your fab giveaway: @r_e_morrison.

  17. jpetroroy Says:

    Wow! Congrats! I’d love to enter. Jen, @jpetroroy

  18. Cameron Eldridge Says:

    Wow, congrats on 500 posts! I’d love to enter 🙂

    Cameron Eldridge @cam_eldridge

  19. Yay! Confetti canons for your 500th post!! I am so glad I found you on Twitter a while back. You have been very inspirational to me. You were not my mentor in this past NoQS but you helped me anyway through my friend, whom you were mentoring! Thank you!!!
    @jeannieintrieri
    Jeannieintrieri@att.net

  20. Gretchen Mayer Says:

    @GretchenMayer would love to be entered in the giveaway and the critique – my manuscript has been multi-revised. (Is that a word?) Many thanks

  21. Kelly Says:

    Fantastic blog! Just discovered it two weeks ago, and it feels like I’ve read 500 posts so far! Congrats 🙂

    I’d love to enter too! Email is: kellypkehoe@gmail.com

  22. DSperling-Billings Says:

    Dvorah Sperling @goldensong012

    Wow!! I was gonna start a blog and I didn’t even get to one post. 500 is amazing!! Hear’s (here’s?) to 500 more. 😀

  23. pdpabst Says:

    P D Pabst, twitter handle @pdpabst

    Congrats on a successful blog! Hitting 500 posts is awesome! And thanks for celebrating with giveaways because Oooooo giveaways!

  24. Thank you for sharing your success with all of us. Congratulations on your 500th post!

  25. tmeuretbooks Says:

    Congratulations!

    @tmeuretbooks

  26. Lynne Marie Says:

    So exciting — thanks for letting us celebrate with you! Wishing you continued success and MORE! @Literally_Lynne

  27. Michael Says:

    Congratulations on reaching 500! Thanks so much for all your helpful posts!
    Please enter me in the contest.

    Name: Michael Tatonetti
    Email: mtatonetti4@gmail.com

  28. Christine Abely Says:

    Congrats on 500 posts!
    @ChristineAbely

  29. Aubrey Cann Says:

    Congrats on hitting 500 posts! I love your First Five Frenzy interviews. So useful when I’m querying! I’d love to enter to win the critiques.
    Aubrey Cann
    @aubreycann

  30. Rebecca Says:

    I love your blog! Congrats on your 500th post! @rebeccasmallen

  31. erinbear Says:

    Congrats on 500! I’ve been a big fan since finding your website last year. Don’t need a crit just now, though, but I’m always down for more books… @ErinBeatyWrites

  32. Congrats, and thanks for this opportunity! Your blog has been such a help to me in the querying process!

  33. Tom Navratil Says:

    Way to go — halfway to a thousand! Thank you for all you share. As a writer, I’d be most interested in one of the critiques. I look forward to your ongoing insights. @TomNavratilism

  34. cjlehi Says:

    Can’t like this post too much. That’s a wonderful, amazing milestone. You’ve contributed so much to us, and we are grateful.

    @cjlehi

  35. Petra Says:

    Congratulations! And thanks for a helpful and inspiring blog. petracraddock@gmail.com @petracraddock

  36. Petra Says:

    Congratulations! And thank you for a helpful and inspiring blog!

  37. Aprile Scharf Says:

    AprileScharf@gmail.com

    Aprile Scharf would love to enter. Thank you.

  38. kattzilla Says:

    This is amazing! Congrats on 500 posts! 🙂 So happy for you!
    And you can definitely count me in for this giveaway! I’m a writer as well!
    katherinebogle@live.ca or twitter @KattyB3

  39. Dee Keymel Says:

    500!! Wow. Now you have a goal. 1000. I’m a writer. Thanks for the contest.
    Email: dkeymel5@yahoo.com

  40. Congratulations and thank you for the giveaway 🙂
    Jennifer Reinharz
    Twitter: @redsaidwhatblog

  41. ManjuBeth Says:

    As a kidlit writer, I appreciate your blog. Thank you for all 500 posts!

  42. E.E Says:

    Love your blog! Thank you so much for all of your hard work, keeping our spirits up in the trenches! Plus…you know, awesome give away! 🙂
    @Sypher_e

  43. That is quite an accomplishment! I was happy with my 35th blog post the other day. Now I have a long way to go!

    Eric Rasmussen
    @mreras
    rasmeric@gmail.com

  44. susan b Says:

    500 posts is amazing! Congrats!
    I’d love to win a critique.
    ssnbawin@yahoo.com

  45. kateincc Says:

    Congratulations! What an amazing accomplishment, and I love that you are celebrating it with generosity. @SuperKate

  46. brzaks Says:

    Congrats!!! 500 blog posts is amazing. Thanks for the helpful advice and articles!
    CD Cooper
    Brzaks@rogers.com
    @brzaks

  47. Anya H. Says:

    Congrats on 500 posts! I’ve been reading your blog for a long time, and I’ve learned so much from you, Amy!
    @anya_hau

  48. D Strickland Says:

    Congratulations on 500 posts! Please enter me in the book giveaways – @dswrimo on Twitter.

  49. Laurie Lucking Says:

    500 posts – what an accomplishment! Thanks for all the hard work you’ve put into this! The giveaways sound amazing, count me in! ~Laurie @LaurieLucking

  50. maurajortner Says:

    Hi Amy! Congrats on your 500 posts. I am a writer and I’d love a chance at the critique maura_jortner @Twitter

  51. RMHuse Says:

    Love your blog! 🙂 -Ruth @RMHuse

  52. Laura Says:

    500 posts!! That’s awesome!!
    Laura Gokey
    E-mail: lgokey02@gmail.com
    Twitter: @bookwormlaura

  53. 500 posts is an accomplishment to be proud of. Congratulations! Please enter me in the giveaway and thank you! Email: author@brendamariesmith.com.

  54. Congratulations, Amy, and thanks for all your encouraging, helpful posts for writers! What an awesome giveaway!

    Thanks,
    Melissa @MelissaMenten

  55. jvictorine Says:

    I always look forward to your blog posts because they resonate so well. Congratulations and may you keep on blogging! The critique give away is fabulous way to celebrate! JMills @JulieVMills

  56. Congrats on 500 posts! I’m good on critiques for the moment, so you can leave those for others, but I’m always up for books!!

  57. Tracy Abell Says:

    That’s a huge milestone and I thank you for all you give to the writing community! I don’t often take time to comment, but I always take the time to read what you share.

    @TracyAbell

  58. crbwriter Says:

    Congratulations! That’s a huge achievement. Your prizes inspire all my greed. Thanks for the all the opportunities you offer the writing community.

  59. crbwriter Says:

    Congratulations! That’s a huge achievement. I’m a writer and I’d love to win. @beachbailey

  60. Laura Evelev Says:

    I love your blog! @lauraevelev

  61. kellymdevos Says:

    Your blog us such a wonderful resource for writers!! Congrats and thanks for this incredible giveaway 🙂

  62. Edith Says:

    500 posts full of wit, inspiration, and great information! Congrats!! We should be giving you prizes 🙂
    @lalondee10

  63. I love reading your ‘Quite the Query’ posts (and everything else). Congrats on a successful blog.
    -Holly @WriteColl

  64. Danielle Says:

    Woo hoo – that’s so awesome! I’m a new fan and thrilled to have found your blog a few weeks ago. Thanks for all the info you share. I would be over the moon to win a critique! @martinisandmini

  65. Karen Says:

    Hi Amy, thanks so much for this contest! Throwing my hat in the ring.

  66. 500! Woo-hoo! I hope I can get there in one piece, but I have a few years to go 🙂 Great contest, count me in! Julie @jmgoebel2k13

  67. Andrea Says:

    Congrats, Amy! Your blog is such a great resource for writers! So thank you and I wish you all the best!
    Andrea
    @Andrea_Contos

  68. Ali Bovis Says:

    Congratulations!!! That’s amazing!! Thanks so much for all the great posts and look forward to seeing the next 500!
    Ali Bovis
    Alibovis1@cs.com

  69. pinguicha Says:

    Congratulations, Amy! Here’s to 500 more!
    Diana Pinguicha
    @pinguicha

  70. Congrats on 500 posts and thank you for all the wonderful, insightful posts you’ve provided. I know I’ve learned a lot from them.

    Jamie
    @Rockets2Writing

  71. Congrats on your 500th post! What an awesome giveaway!

  72. Chelly Pike Says:

    Congrats on the milestone! Woohoo! And thanks for the giveaway.
    Chelly Pike @ChellyPike

  73. rmlambie Says:

    Thank you so much for all the posts…for all of the sharing.
    Roxanne Lambie
    @roxannelambie

  74. Sooo glad I came across your blog! This is exactly my situation! I am trying to write my first book and am hoping for any advice or suggestions. So nice to see how far along you’ve come!

  75. annmarjoryk Says:

    500 posts! Holy cow, I need to catch up on my reading of them! 🙂

    Seriously, that’s fantastic.

    And I’d love to be in on this contest!

    Ann Marjory K
    @annmarjoryk

  76. Thanks for this opportunity, Amy. – Kirk, @KAKraft

  77. Michelle Says:

    Hi there! Thanks for all the great help and information you’ve shared! I’d love to enter the giveaway. @michellehazen

  78. taracreel Says:

    Congrats on 500 posts! I’m so happy for you 🙂 You know I love your blog and appreciate all you do!


Leave a Reply

