chasingthecrazies

Chasing my crazy dream in the writing world…

QUITE THE QUERY with Sharon Chriscoe and Race Car Dreams October 2, 2015

QuiteTheQuery

 

 

If you ask any writer about the process of connecting with their agent (or publisher), the majority will say the most difficult part was querying. Not only the actual process of sending out the letters/emails, but formulating the query itself. In fact, I’ve heard more than a few authors say writing their query took them almost as long as drafting their book!

 

Some people have the talent of being able to summarize their book in a few sentences, but for those who don’t, I wanted to provide a resource where writers could learn what works, and what doesn’t, in a query. With that in mind, I’m pleased to share today’s successful query from Sharon Chriscoe. This great query connected her with her agent, Jessica Sinsheimer.

 

 

With the moon shining and the race track quiet, it’s time for a little race car to get ready for bed. After he bathes in the suds, polishes his chrome, changes his oil, and reads from his book, he drifts off to dreamland where he vrooms to the front and takes home first place.

 

RACE CAR DREAMS is complete at 251 words. It will appeal to fans of both Pixar’s Cars and Goodnight Goodnight Construction Site.

 

 

Fun Tidbit:

 

I connected with Jessica Sinsheimer through a client referral. A few months before, one of my critique partners had signed with her and we hatched a plan to wait six months and then she would mention me to Jessica. That plan got sped up when I received an offer from another agent during the #agentmatch contest. Within minutes after sending Race Car Dreams to Jessica, she replied asking to see more of my work. And by the next week we were chatting on the phone. I knew right then and there on the phone that Jessica was the agent for me. She was super nice, very savvy, and loved my work.

 

 

 

Sharon Chriscoe B&WSharon Chriscoe writes for children of all ages. From very young picture books to upper middle grade, she is passionate about creating lively worlds for children to grow and learn in. She is a wife and a mother to three grown children and she has an assortment of dogs, cats, bunnies and occasionally a groundhog, when he decides to pop in to graze in her backyard.

 

Sharon and her husband, Ricky, spend their days delivering bread and snacks to local businesses in North Carolina. She writes her books from her mobile office—the bread truck—in between deliveries!

 

In addition to RACE CAR DREAMS, she is the author of THE SPARROW AND THE TREES and a contributor to several magazines such as Highlights High Five, Highlights Hello, and The Old Farmer’s Almanac for Kids. She is a member of The Society of Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators and a graduate of The Institute of Children’s Literature. She is represented by the amazing Jessica Sinsheimer of the Sarah Jane Freymann Literary Agency.

 

To learn more about Sharon, her books, and future events visit her website: www.sharonchriscoebooks.com

 

 

Advertisements
 

One Response to “QUITE THE QUERY with Sharon Chriscoe and Race Car Dreams”

  1. Sarah Floyd Says:

    This query is adorable! Vroom vroom!
    I can hardly wait to read the book. : )


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s