chasingthecrazies

Chasing my crazy dream in the writing world…

BEHIND THE CURTAIN: The Truth about R&Rs (Revise & Resubmits) August 5, 2015

BTC logo

 

 

Very early on in querying a manuscript, I received an R&R (Revise & Resubmit) from an agent I admired. When she asked if I’d be interested in revising my work, I quickly agreed. Honestly, at the time I had no clue what an R&R even meant. All I knew was an agent liked my work and I was thrilled. I reached out to all my writing buddies and asked them to educate me on the process. Amidst some major hand holding, I tried to address all the issues the agent pointed out and revise based on her pages of notes. The entire experience felt like a whirlwind I was utterly unprepared for – and it turned out that gut feeling was correct because the agent eventually passed.

 

Looking back now I wonder if I knew more about the process I would have handled it better. With that in mind, I reached out to Kate Brauning, Senior Editor at Entangled Publishing, and asked if she would provide an inside look at what she considers before offering an R&R on a manuscript. Hopefully her words will provide a better understanding of the process and what it takes to make the experience a successful one.

 

 

 

Behind The Curtain: Revise and Resubmit (R&Rs)

By Kate Brauning

 

 

 

In my job as an acquiring senior editor at Entangled Publishing, I read a ton of manuscripts submitted by authors or pitched to me by agents. It’s a wonderfully fun and exciting job—I never know when I’m going to discover something fantastic.

 

For me to make an offer of publication, I have to be convinced a manuscript is A) in very strong shape—editing will polish and sharpen it, but it doesn’t require much if any rewriting. B) It has to be marketable. I have to believe we can deliver on the expectation that this book will sell. C) I have to love it—I read a MS I acquire 6-8 times, and going 3-5 rounds of revisions with an author is such an investment that I have to know it’s a project I’m passionate about. D) Finally, it has to be something I can get approved by the acquisition board.

 

Sometimes, one or more of those things is missing, and I decide to give the author a chance to revise and resubmit. Here’s how I work through that process:

 

When I decide to offer an R&R, it’s because I can’t accept it as-is, but I don’t want to pass. However, I don’t offer R&Rs just because there’s a story flaw that needs solved before the MS is solid. There are a lot of manuscripts that I enjoy that need a set of revisions, but I end up passing instead of offering an R&R. To offer an R&R, I have to be really passionate about the MS. I have to love something so much that I’m willing to do additional work beyond the standard for acquiring and editing a book. I’m investing time and energy into it for no guaranteed results, and I’ll still have the normal workload for the book once it comes back to me if it’s successful and we acquire it. Oftentimes what grabs me in this situation is the world, the voice, or a character. I connect with it, I love it, and I want to give the author some direction to get it to that next level where I could potentially acquire it. The R&R is also a great chance to see how I work with an author, and if our visions match up for the story.

 

I usually do not offer an R&R if the writing is weak (that’s very difficult to overhaul, and usually not successful), if the concept is flat or problematic, or if the MS lacks voice. Those things really require a complete rewrite.

 

After I discuss the R&R with the author and they let me know they are open to it and our visions for where the revisions should go match up, I write up and send an editorial letter. This looks a lot like the editorial letters I send to my clients. I discuss the issues I want to see changed, explain why they are issues to me, and then give some examples of solutions, but let the author ultimately decide how she or he wants to solve them.

 

Here’s the tough truth: The changes required are usually significant. When you’re offered an R&R, if it looks like small changes, dig deeper. If the agent/editor thought only small changes were needed, they probably wouldn’t be asking for an R&R. They’d just acquire the MS.

 

When an R&R is returned to me, I look to see if the author has fully executed the revision notes. Not just whether or not she or he has solved the problems—I want to see that the author has taken ownership of the issues, applied their own vision and passion to them, and brought everything full-circle. Can there still be minor issues? Of course. But A-D above still have to be a solid yes.

 

Here’s the great news about R&Rs: Even though receiving one means the revisions most likely aren’t light, it also means the agent/editor sees something significant in your MS. Something they’re passionate about. Something they love so much that they’re willing to not just work for it, but do extra work for no guaranteed results. And that’s a huge, wonderful compliment.

 

 

 

 

KateB headshot AKate Brauning is a senior editor at Entangled Publishing. She’s also a YA author (How We Fall, F&W Media 2015) and is represented by Carlie Webber. Kate loves unusual people, good whiskey, dark chocolate, everything about autumn, bright colors, red maple trees, superstitions, ghost stories, anything Harry Potter, night skies, pie, and talking about books. She’s working hard on her next few novels, and if you see her, say hello, because she’d love to take you out for coffee and ask you what you’re reading.

 

Author website: www.katebrauning.com

Publishing blog: www.katebrauning.wordpress.com/ Twitter: @KateBrauning

 

 

13 Responses to “BEHIND THE CURTAIN: The Truth about R&Rs (Revise & Resubmits)”

  1. Thanks for sharing this interesting information. Great to hear R&Rs explained from the other side of the desk.

  2. I really love this. Thank you fro bringing it to us. I’ve never been asked for a R&R, but I’d welcome one with open arms. Whatever it takes to make the best manuscript and end product.

  3. Welcome back, Amy! Lots of great info here. Thanks for posting!

  4. What a timely post. And I feel your earlier experience. I completed an R&R for an agent a couple of years ago that didn’t work out. I still love that manuscript, and I think what she asked for was *almost* right but not quite. Maybe I will eventually figure that one out.

    But really, it’s always nice to hear that an R&R means someone believes in you enough to try and make it work, even if it doesn’t turn into anything in the end.

  5. K. Callard Says:

    Thanks for the post! Always interesting to see what an editor thinks. I was lucky enough to get 3 R&Rs on my manuscript – and the last one landed me my agent!

  6. MJ Greenway Says:

    Thanks for sharing an editor’s view of this process. I did have an R&R turn into a contract but it ended up being another publisher that I sent the revised copy to. It was a lot of work but ended up being worthwhile in the end.

  7. Thank you for posting this. I had gotten R&R requests from about five different agents a few years ago, and most of them gave me two or three tries before a final no. It was my first MS and I had no clue what I was doing when I revised each time, since the notes were always so vague. Now while I know what was wrong with the MS and understand what I should have done, but it still left me with this feeling that I wasn’t cut out to write because I wasn’t good enough. I also couldn’t get that spark back, but after reading this I think I understand that I don’t suck and I finally feel like I need to get back to writing. Thank you for helping me see what R&R really means! 🙂

  8. kathleea Says:

    I just finished one on a novel I sent back. I’ve gotten them before (on a different mss) but no offers. It’s interesting to hear it from the “other side” so to speak. Thanks!

  9. Ashley Says:

    This was so timely for me. I’m in the midst of an R&R for one of my top agent choices, and I’ve been grappling with whether or not I’ve been editing TOO much. From the sound of this, that answer is no, and it’s helped me feel more secure in the choices I’ve made. Thanks so much for this!

  10. I wonder how many R & Rs she asks for but then does not accept the book. It seems that R&Rs are often not successful. It’s a good question for agents also. Thanks for this post!

  11. A really fine post about a topic that to my mind isn’t talked about enough among writers.


Leave a Reply

