chasingthecrazies

Chasing my crazy dream in the writing world…

Monday Musings: Taking A Break June 8, 2015

Filed under: Blog,creative writing,Publishing — chasingthecrazies @ 1:00 pm
Tags: ,

Ferris Wheel

 

 

 

 

Most of my childhood memories from summer involve rollercoasters, log rides, or turns on the Ferris Wheel. The reason why is pretty simple. I grew up a fifteen minute drive from Disneyland. At night you could actually climb onto my roof and watch the fireworks in the distance. Living so close to Disneyland fed an obsession I had for rollercoasters and anything that would turn me upside down, spin me around, or basically twist in the air. I loved the feeling of free-falling when the log ride dropped me down that final chute, or the inability to walk a straight line after a speedy turn on Mr. Toad’s Wild Ride.

 

 

 

Funny how nowadays I feel like my life has turned into one long spin on the teacups. For the last year I’ve been in sort of a whirlwind. Trying to get a handle on being in the publishing world (querying, signing with an agent, working on two new books) has in a lot of ways made me feel like I’m on 100 mph ride that does not want to stop.

 

 

 

Don’t get me wrong, I feel absolutely blessed to be in the great position I’m in. Writing every day. Working on new ideas is a blessing I don’t take for granted for a second. But I must admit that in a lot of ways it has taken over my life in a way that’s not really healthy. Important things have fallen by the wayside. Events I should be paying more attention to have sort of slipped away. Honestly, my life feels really out of balance and it’s taken my focus away from important things that matter a great deal to me.

 

 

 

With this in mind, I’ve decided to take the next month and a half to restore my life back to normality. Part of this means focusing on the here and now. Being present in the moment. But that’s hard to do when you’re constantly worried about being active on social media or what you’re going to post on your blog for the next several weeks. So I’ve made the decision to go quiet for a while. Fall in love with a few good books. Take the time to reconnect with family and friends. But most important: take a breath and remind myself why I love to write.

 

 

 

I hope you’ll stop back in August when I return. There are lots of cool things in the works including many more successful queries to share, as well as an important BEHIND THE CURTAIN post you won’t want to miss.

 

 

 

My wish for you is a summer filled with precious memories. I hope you’ll drink some lemonade. Watch the sunset. Maybe get your feet wet in the sand. But most of all, I hope you’ll hug the ones closest to you. They are really what this life is all about.

 

 

Hugs,

 

Amy

 

 

 

4 Responses to “Monday Musings: Taking A Break”

  1. Here here! I’m on a blogger vacation for June. I might extend it to July, or do limited blogging. I was getting to worried about it.

  2. kiperoo Says:

    Good for you! It’s so hard to walk away even for a short time, but it’s definitely worth it to launch oneself into life–especially summer!

  3. michelle4laughs Says:

    Have a good time off! Your friends will wait!

  4. mirkabreen Says:

    Stop to smell the roses. Yes.


Leave a Reply

