chasingthecrazies

Chasing my crazy dream in the writing world…

4K Celebration & Giveaway April 27, 2015

Filed under: Blog,writing craft — chasingthecrazies @ 7:08 am
Tags: , , ,

GIVEAWAY IS NOW CLOSED! 

 

I am completely and totally overwhelmed by the fact that this blog now has 4,000 followers, and yes, I agree with Kevin Bacon, “LET’S DANCE.”

 

When I started this blog in 2012 I never imagined coming this far. To be honest, there have been some crazy moments when I wondered if it was worth the time and effort to post every week, but whenever doubt would creep in, I’d get a beautiful comment from a reader on how this blog was helping or encouraging them, and I knew I was doing the right thing.

 

Although I’ve seen some good and bad days, and shared some of those experiences on this blog, one thing has never changed: my commitment to helping writers. I can’t promise what the future will hold, but as long as I can type, and come up with ways to help educate and encourage writers, I will keep the posts coming.

 

As a thank you to anyone and everyone who has ever read or commented on any of my posts, I wanted to offer up some special items as a token of my thanks.

 

First, I am giving away 4 books from authors who have graciously shared some aspect of their writing journey on my blog:

 

David Arnold has not only been a part of my W.O.W. series, but he also allowed me to share his successful query for MOSQUITOLAND. So, I’m happy to giveaway a copy of this AMAZING read.

 

 

 

Mosquitoland

 

 

 

Next is Alexis Bass. She shared her writing journey last year in my W.O.W. series. I’m giving away a copy of her LOVE AND OTHER THEORIES.

 

 

 

Love and Other

 

 

 

Mary Elizabeth Summer’s TRUST ME, I’M LYING is a twisty, thrilling ride that will keep you on the edge of your seats. She also was kind enough to share her writing journey in my W.O.W series, as well as her killer query in my QUITE THE QUERY series.

 

 

 

TrustMe

 

 

 

Last, but certainly not least, is Emery Lord. I fell in love with her first book, OPEN ROAD SUMMER, and she graciously agreed to share her story regarding her path to publication in my W.O.W. series. Now I’m giving away her next book, THE START OF YOU & ME.

 

 

 

Start of

 

 

 

Besides books, I’ve got some other terrific goodies to give away…

1) A first chapter critique from my agent, Roseanne Wells of Jennifer De Chiara Literary.

2) A query critique from my Sun vs. Snow partner-in-crime, Michelle Hauck (Kindar’s Cure)

3) A query critique from extraordinary New Adult author, Jennifer Blackwood (Unethical & Foolproof) who shared her own successful query in my QUITE THE QUERY series.

4) A query critique from the incredible writer, Stacey Lee (Under A Painted Sky) who talked about her path to publication in my W.O.W. series.

 

And to top it off, 4 $10 Amazon gift cards!

 

Are you seeing a pattern here??? (We are celebrating 4k, right!)

 

To enter the giveaway, please leave a comment and include your name as well as contact info (email or twitter handle)-if you want to share what your favorite post was, I’d love to hear it too!

 

Sorry, giveaway only open to those living in the U.S.

 

Entry window is now open and will close this Friday, May 1 at 12 pm EST.

 

Again, I can’t say THANK YOU enough for all the love and support I’ve received from those who’ve read this blog. I’m grateful for all of you each and every day!

 

Hugs,

Amy

 

85 Responses to “4K Celebration & Giveaway”

  1. Chelsea Says:

    Congratulations!!! Your contests helped to inspire me to start querying! Thank you! Giveaway info: Chelsea – @thewrittenfox – chelsea.detorres@gmail.com

  2. Congrats, Amy 🙂 I love your W.O.W series. And all the posts on queries and the pep talks and helpful advice. I’m glad I subscribe to your blog. @SujaSukumar

  3. Congrats on 4k!! Thank you for all the work you put into the blog. I’ve used it as a resource over and over for writing & querying tips 🙂

    Giveaway info: Karrie – muralasa@gmail.com – @karriebearr on Twitter

  4. Lucas Hargis Says:

    Dang. I was hoping to be comment #44… but, alas, I’ll be the stepping stone for the next lass/lad.
    Congrats on the 4k mark! Always reachable at @LucasMight.

  5. I’ve only just discovered you but congratulations on 4k followers! 🙂 And thanks for the giveaway!

  6. erinbear Says:

    Amy, I have trouble following blogs for some reason, but I come here all the time, so you have 4001 followers at least! @ErinBeatyWrites

  7. Congrats on reaching 4K! I love your query-writing series. It is SO helpful. Thank you for the giveaway!

  8. Melissa Menten Says:

    Congratulations, Amy! I so much appreciate and admire all the work you put in this blog, coming up with posts that writers like myself genuinely can’t wait to read.You are inspiring and encouraging. Please keep it up!

    @MelissaMenten

  9. Kirsten Joan Says:

    Great job Amy! I love and especially benefit from “Quite the Query”posts. I catch up every weekend to remain fueled along this writing journey. YEAH! @kirronijoanz

  10. heatherm66 Says:

    Amy, yours was one of the first writing blogs I followed when I decided to change careers (!gasp!) and start writing MG/YA. All your series, but in particular First Five Frenzy have been *invaluable* sources of research, inspiration, and encouragement.
    Thank you!! And congrats on your milestone.
    Heather Murphy Capps
    Email: HeatherM66@aol.com
    Twitter: @HeatherMC66

  11. My name is Eric Rasmussen, rasmeric@gmail.com, @mreras. Like so many authors, I am desperately addicted to stories of how others have connected with agents, both for the hope they provide and for the (do we admit to this?) jealous grumbly motivation they spark.

    As a dabbling blogger, the scope of this accomplishment is tremendous. Bravo!

  12. tpolen Says:

    Congrats on the 4K – sweet giveaway you’ve got, too! My fav posts are the queries that got authors an agent.

  13. jpetroroy Says:

    Congrats! What a milestone! 🙂 @jpetroroy

  14. Noelle Henry Says:

    Congrats on the 4000 followers! What an awesome milestone! I love your First Five Frenzies and your W.O.W. series, both helpful and inspiring for authors in the trenches. 🙂 @NoelleHenryYA

  15. Congratulations, Amy! Hmm, I don’t think I can pick a favorite post. There’s always something to learn or identify with. You know how to find me :).

  16. Ava Jae Says:

    Wow! Congratulations, Amy! You deserve every one of those followers. 🙂

    You know my Twitter handle I think. lol

  17. Liz Furl Says:

    Thanks for the fantastic giveaway!

    ❤ Liz Furl
    @lizfurl on Twitter

  18. Very impressive, Amy! Not surprising, but certainly impressive.

  19. laurenkdentonbooks Says:

    Forgot to leave my info! @laurenkdenton!

  20. laurenkdentonbooks Says:

    I love the First Five Frenzies!

  21. This is a fantastic thing. 4k! How awesome. My twitter handle is @jabloczynski and my email is jabloczynski@gmail.com

  22. Congrats Amy! I love your blog and you. Thanks for putting together an amazing giveaway!

  23. Hey Amy! I’m so excited for you to hit this milestone, and what a wonderful blog you run! Even before we met at RT, I’ve come to your blog for so much great advice. So thank you for all that you do! My favorite posts are the Quite the Query and First Five Frenzy posts. Those were invaluable to me like I was getting ready to query GYRE, and even now. Thank YOU for such a wonderful, helpful blog!

  24. Jenny Chou Says:

    Hi Amy-

    You are so wonderful to give away all those fabulous prizes! And you deserve every one of your 4000 followers. I don’t have a specific fav post, but I would never, ever send out a query without first looking the agent up on First Five Frenzy. Jenny Chou Email: jchou2323@yahoo.com or Twitter: @JennyC2323

  25. I always look forward to your posts and getting the ‘behind the scenes’ look at successful query letters. Congratulations on reach the big 4-0h-oh-oh! 😀
    My contact info is: @pegrothschild

  26. heathermkelley Says:

    Congrats on the milestone, and what a fun giveaway! Twitter = @WhimsyGrayse 🙂

  27. RoseAnn Says:

    Congrats on 4k! That’s awesome! @RoseAnnFoster

  28. Congrats! I found your blog after being involved in Sun vs Snow, which was such a fun and helpful experience! All us rookie writers are in your debt! @TMeuretBooks

  29. Honestly, I love all WOW posts. Reading about other authors’ journeys give me hope. And they’re all so different! my twitter handle is @prernapickett

  30. rmlambie Says:

    The Query Blog Hop you did was sooo helpful! There are many contests for finished and polished novels but this one gave me an opportunity to participate since my ms isn’t complete yet. I got GREAT feedback and I have used all of the advice. Thank you for being such a wonderful hostess!

  31. Febe Moss Says:

    Loved the Sun vs Snow contest! Super helpful blog! Febe Moss @thefebemoss

  32. crbwriter Says:

    You’re so generous with your encouragement–and with these celebratory gifts! Thanks for your commitment, and best wishes on gaining many, many more fans.

  33. Rachel Says:

    Wow, 4k!! Congrats!! 😀 I love your different series and the effort you put into different contests! @whatshewrote

  34. missriki Says:

    Congratulations on 4K!! My favorite posts are Quite the Query, especially for where I’m at now. I find myself mining through them for information and inspiration. My contact is @ MissRiki. I’m so proud of you!

  35. Petra Says:

    Congratulations on reaching 4000 followers! Your blog is inspiring and helpful, and I love and appreciate your contests as well. @petracraddock

  36. pdpabst Says:

    Congrats on 4000! Woot! There’s so much I love about your blog. You give back so much to the writing community! And we thank you for this. I will, however, agree with Shelly that the First Five Frenzy posts are some of my favorites:-)

    Contact: P.D.Pabst on twitter @pdpabst

  37. This blog is great for writers! I started following during the Sun vs. Snow contest. My favorite posts are the First Five Frenzies. So helpful! Contact: @michelle_beahm

  38. sherryhoward Says:

    Amy, I love how you celebrate successes on here and support other writers, both by supporting new writers with great info and by sharing the successes of established YA writers. All of these posts are informative and encouraging. Your blog is my go-to spot when I need a YA boost of courage! Thanks for gathering so much great info in one spot! @SherLHoward

  39. Alex Says:

    Thank you for all your insightful blogs! It’s been so helpful. Congrats on 4k!
    @AlexS_Writes

  40. Tracy Abell Says:

    Congratulations on the milestone, Amy! I read your blog in the mornings while doing one of my daily stretches, so thank you for all the good, distracting info. 🙂

    @TracyAbell

  41. Congratulations! I love all the insights into real life writing, querying and publishing you share on your blog!
    @heidischlottman

  42. I checked this blog a LOT when I was a querying writer! I loved reading the interviews you had up. (Spoiler: I’m now agented!)

    Congrats on reaching 4k followers!

  43. Congratulations on such an amazing milestone! Given how helpful this blog is, I’m not surprised. I love your FIRST FIVE FRENZY and QUITE THE QUERY posts.

  44. Shantal Sessions Says:

    I loved your 100,000 views post. I was excited and happy for you. I also really enjoy First Five Frenzy and W.O.W. I’ve learned so much from these posts. @CallMeShawn9498 on Twitter

  45. slide416 Says:

    So happy for you! My favorite posts are all the ones that encourage me to keep trying. I get discouraged sometimes, but these posts have really given me confidence to continue.

  46. Kim Says:

    Congrats! Thanks for the chance to win. I’ve been following your Quite the Query series… as a new writer who’s currently in the query trenches, it’s been great to find out what’s worked for others. You can find me at @authorKimOwen. Thanks!

  47. Sonia Campbell Says:

    I’ve just recently discovered this blog but I have already been encouraged and inspired by your posts. Thank you!

  48. Shelly Steig Says:

    Love, love, love, love the First Five Frenzy–every single one of them! Such great insights into agents!
    Contact info: Shelly Steig, twitter–@ShellySteig

  49. aightball Says:

    Congrats on 4k! I LOVE your query series and I love when you interview agents as well. It’s great to see what they’re looking for, what they’ve seen, and what not to do =). Here’s to another 4k!

  50. Congratulations, Amy, on reaching this milestone. Don’t ask me to pick one favorite blog out of so many. Each one is a treasure!

  51. You rock, Amy. Congrats on your 4k celebration. I’m dancing as I type!


Leave a Reply

