chasingthecrazies

Chasing my crazy dream in the writing world…

QUITE THE QUERY: Brighton Walsh and Caged in Winter February 6, 2015

Filed under: Literary Agent,Publishing,Query — chasingthecrazies @ 7:10 am
Tags: , , ,

QuiteTheQuery

 

 

 

If you ask any writer about the process of connecting with their agent (or publisher), the majority will say the most difficult part was querying. Not only the actual process of sending out the letters/emails, but formulating the query itself. In fact, I’ve heard more than a few authors say writing their query took them almost as long as drafting their book!

 

Some people have the talent of being able to summarize their book in a few sentences. But for those who don’t, I wanted to provide a resource so writers could learn what works, and what doesn’t, in a query.

 

With that in mind, I’m pleased to share today’s successful query from Brighton Walsh. This great query connected her with her agent, Mandy Hubbard at D4EO Literary Agency.

 

 

 

I’m writing to inquire your interest in representing my completed new adult contemporary romance, Caged in Winter. Through Twitter and #MSWL, I saw you were seeking steamy new adult, and Caged in Winter would be a good fit for what you’re looking for.

 

A protective aspiring chef tries to find the recipe to break down the walls of a broken loner desperately seeking a solitary existence.

 

WINTER JACOBSON has always led a solitary life. Shuffled from foster home to foster home, then breaking out on her own to attend college thousands of miles away from her home state, she’s made it a point to do things on her own. She’s fiercely independent and doesn’t need anyone’s help. So when a Prince Charming wannabe swoops in on his white horse, attempting to rescue her, she tells him to get right back on his horse and keep riding.

 

CADE MAXWELL is intrigued by her fierce rebuttal. All his life, he’s been the protector—man of the house from way too young, guardian to his younger sister, role model to his niece—so when this girl with the fire in her eyes refuses his help, he makes it his mission to crack her walls, just a little. But even when he finally breaks through, she still holds back even though he’s offering something she’s never had: acceptance and love.

 

The one thing he’s most desperate to give her may be the thing that tears them apart.

 

Gritty, emotional, and sexy, CAGED IN WINTER will appeal to readers of Tammara Webber and J. Lynn. The manuscript is complete at 74,000 words is the first in a planned three book companion series. This title, however, also has the ability to stand alone.

 

 

 

Brighton’s Query Tidbit:

 

My query process was a whirlwind. I subbed to 23 agents, all in one fell swoop and all to my A list. I know there’s a lot of talk about how you should go about querying in terms of waves of queries and such, but my motto is always go big or go home, so that’s what I did. I got my first of four offers roughly three weeks after my first submission and signed with my agent a week after that initial offer!

 

 

 

CagedinWinter

 

 

Now available via Amazon, Barnes and Noble and iBooks.

 

 

BrightonBrighton Walsh spent nearly a decade as a professional photographer before deciding to take her storytelling in a different direction and reconnect with her first love: writing. When she’s not pounding away at the keyboard, she’s probably either reading or shopping—maybe even both at once. She lives in the Midwest with her husband and two children, and, yes, she considers forty degrees to be hoodie weather. Her home is the setting for frequent dance parties, Lego battles, and more laughter than she thought possible.

 

Her debut novel, Caged in Winter is now available. She is represented by Mandy Hubbard of D4EO Literary Agency. For more on Brighton, check out her website, or follow her on Facebook, Twitter and Pinterest.

Advertisements
 

4 Responses to “QUITE THE QUERY: Brighton Walsh and Caged in Winter”

  1. I actually like the one sentence. I think what makes it unique is that the one sentence can be used for marketing, hooks, etc. On Goodreads and amazon we always (usually) see one sentence that IS the novel. This is that one sentence, so an agent might already off the bat see “okay, I know how to market this, the writer knows how to market this and this sentence tells a story, without giving it all away”. I see it more as a marketing/lure for the agent rather than adding to the body of the query, but I think its a cool thing that makes it unique. Plus, with the personalized sentence, I think most agents would look over it if they dont enjoy it.

  2. Ben Says:

    I’m surprised this query connected. The awkward language at the opening, and the clumsy 1-sentence second paragraph, turned me off right away.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s