chasingthecrazies

Chasing my crazy dream in the writing world…

QUITE THE QUERY… It’s a secret no more September 26, 2014

QuiteTheQuery

 

 

This space is usually where I place the intro for this series. In most cases it goes something like this: Queries are hard. But once you hit on the right story, and work with your CPs and betas, you can write one that will attract agent interest. This is not something I just put out there, but what I TRULY believe.

 

Over the years I’ve written more queries than I care to remember. In fact, for one manuscript I think I rewrote the query 25 times. It got some agent interest and then went nowhere. Then I wrote this baby, and well, from the moment the words hit the page it felt right…

 

 

Eighteen-year-old Grace Lafferty only feels alive when she’s dangling by her teeth 500 feet above ground. As a post-World War I wing walker, Grace thrills crowds, and battles inner demons, trying to forget her abusive childhood and a secret that haunts her every move.

 

No one’s ever questioned Grace’s motives, or sanity, until Henry Patton, a mechanic with plenty of scars from the battlefield, joins her barnstorming team. With each new death-defying trick Grace performs, Henry pushes her to consider her reasons for being a daredevil. Annoyed with Henry’s constant interference, and her growing attraction to him, she continues to test the powers of the sky.

 

After one of her risky maneuvers saves a pilot’s life, a big-time Hollywood studio offers Grace a chance to perform on the national stage. She jumps at the chance to have her future secured. But when a trick goes horribly wrong, it crushes her world and brings an unwanted visit from her alcoholic father who could demolish all her dreams. With her future in the air slipping away, Grace must confront her past and decide whether Henry, and her life, are worth risking for one final trick.

 

Complete at 68,000 words, NOTHING BUT SKY was inspired by real-life women who risked everything to follow their barnstorming dreams in the early twentieth century. It will appeal to readers who enjoyed CODE NAME VERITY and SUCH A RUSH.

 

 

So as you may have guessed by now, I’m sharing this query today as my way of saying…I HAVE AN AGENT!!!!

 

Yes, it’s true. I’ m lucky enough to say I’m now working with the lovely Roseanne Wells at Jennifer De Chiara Literary Agency. This moment has been a long time coming for me. I’ve always thought about what I would say when it arrived, and now I’m completely speechless. All I can say is I’m incredibly grateful to Roseanne for seeing the potential in NOTHING BUT SKY, and for loving Grace and Henry enough to take a chance not only on this manuscript but on me too.

 

In keeping with the tradition of this series, I’ll share one tidbit:

 

The idea for this book came from a trip I took to the Field Museum in Chicago. Once the little plot bunny started hopping around in my head, I knew immediately what the first line of the query would be. Though the plot changed a little, and some of the characters went through serious revisions, I was adamant that the first line always remain the same – and it did.

 

One last thing is very important for me to share. I know for a fact this would have never happened without the love and support of everyone in the writing community. You lifted me up when I was down. Made me laugh when all I wanted to do was cry. And most importantly, made me keep trying even when I was at my lowest. I’m not going to list everyone by name but you know who you are, and I’m sending hugs to you across miles and oceans. Thank you. Thank you for ALWAYS believing in me!

 

 

XOXO,

 

Amy

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

61 Responses to “QUITE THE QUERY… It’s a secret no more”

  1. Jennifer D. Bushroe Says:

    I’m coming to this super late, but I wanted to add in my congratulations, Amy! Your blog posts have helped the writing community for ages, and it’s about time you reap those benefits too! 🙂 – Jennifer (a fellow WriteOnConner)

  2. safia Says:

    Congratulations! This is a wonderful achievement and I can tell you’re enjoying every minute of it. Now the work begins.

  3. Amy…I am filled with so much joy…you can’t imagine! Ever since we stopped our CP group at B & N in chandler..I have been following this blog, getting inspired, using tools, tips and plugging forward…I have been waiting to hear this news..knew it would be just time….U Rock…so much deserved. YEAH!!!!!!!!!

  4. Absolutely fantastic news! Congratulations. You’ve worked very hard for this and are so deserving.

  5. tawney13 Says:

    I’m still jumping with excitement. I wish I was there to celebrate with you. Congrats girl. I love Grace’s story and can’t wait to see what’s next for her and you. Wahoooo

  6. Dahlia Adler Says:

    Aaaaaaahhhhh this is so awesome!!!! HUGE CONGRATS, Amy!!!

  7. ManjuBeth Says:

    Congratulations, Amy! I’m very happy for you. I hope the next step on the road to pub is smooth sailing.

  8. A.D. Martin Says:

    Nice. Congratulations.

  9. Oh yay!!!! Congratulations. So happy for you!

  10. Congratulations! I couldn’t find your announcement in my Twitter feed, but with all the Congrats coming your way I knew it had to be something big! And this is great news, so happy for you!

  11. michelle4laughs Says:

    Happy dance! Happy dance! Dreams couldn’t come true for a nicer person! Much love.

  12. Suja Su Says:

    Congrats, Amy! Marvelous news. So happy for you 🙂

  13. Donald McFatridge Says:

    It’s nice to see nice things happen to nice people who work hard. Nice!

  14. Tracy Abell Says:

    That’s wonderful news! Congratulations to you and your book and your new agent!

  15. George Kulz Says:

    Congratulations! You are on your way! 😀

  16. Karen Harter Says:

    Congratulations, Amy! I look forward to getting you blog posts every week and with all you do for the writing community you deserve the best!!

  17. So happy to read your news! Congratulations! And thanks for all you do for the writing community.

  18. Congratulations Amy. I found your blog through Michelle4Laughs during the most recent Query Combat. I didn’t enter, but I followed and learned. Point is, thank you for sharing so much useful, helpful information. And again, congratulations. Now onward to published and millions of sales!

  19. WOOOOO!! So, so thrilled for you Amy! *throws confetti and cupcakes* CONGRATS 😀

  20. MackenziLee Says:

    Congratulations! I need this book so bad, I can’t even tell you!! Good luck with new agent and I can’t wait to see your book on shelves!

  21. So awesome!!! Congrats! This is a great story. Helps the rest of us keep the faith. Thanks for being such a great inspiration and always giving hope to the rest of us. Good luck on your new journey!

  22. Congratulations! You deserve the happy dance 🙂

  23. maurajortner Says:

    YAY! Congrats! ________________________________________

  24. CONGRATULATIONS!! So happy to hear this!

  25. Congratulations! That sounds like an awesome story! Can’t wait to read it.

  26. YAY! Congrats, Amy! *throws confetti*

    The query was spot-on, by the way. It makes me want to read the book once it’s out!

  27. Sarah Floyd Says:

    Congratulations on landing (no pun inteneded, lol) such an amazing agent! I loved CODE NAME VERITY and admire women of that era so much. I can hardly wait to read your book.

    Best wishes!


Leave a Reply

