chasingthecrazies

Chasing my crazy dream in the writing world…

SVS AGENT ROUND Entry 6: Blackball – YA Contemporary LGBT February 1, 2014

Filed under: Blog,contest — chasingthecrazies @ 8:06 am
Tags: ,

 

Title: BLACKBALL

 

Category/Genre: YA Contemporary LGBT

 

Word count: 68,000

 

 

My main character is most uncomfortable with:

 

 

When the summer heat blasts the cozy town of Whistle Ridge, Michigan, thickening the air and waking the sleepy roses, I catapult back to the night my secret girlfriend was killed in a car crash. The night her blood pooled on the warm cement, staining it red. The night my heart shattered.

 

But as the terracotta leaves swirl through the cooling air and cover the browning grass, I pray the white winter blanket will soon follow. And by the time snow camouflages the blood stain, my plan to sabotage the drunk driver’s good girl reputation will be complete.

 

 

 

Query:

 

 

The exclusivity of a clique is empowering until a member goes rogue. That’s why seventeen-year-old Bryn Michaels keeps her friends close and her enemies closer. She plasters a cheer captain smile across her face and parades around with her quarterback boyfriend. Too bad Bryn’s enemy, Ivy, knows their relationship is fake.

 

If anyone discovers Bryn is a lesbian, the small town residents will harass her. That’s why she keeps her mouth shut about Ivy purposely crashing into the guardrail as revenge for her humiliating cheer squad demotion, killing Bryn’s secret girlfriend. But Bryn knows the truth, and she not going to let Ivy get away with murder. She creates an elaborate plan to sabotage Ivy’s popularity and good girl reputation.

 

When Bryn discovers Ivy’s plot to murder everyone in their social circle to become the new “it” girl, she fears Ivy’s father will help her escape murder charges once again. However, Ivy’s boyfriend plasters Bryn’s scheme and sexual orientation on the Internet, risking her Queen Bee status and forcing her to face small town prejudices. Now Bryn must fight for equality and take down Ivy before she erases the clique one-by-one.

 

 

 

First 250 words:

 

 

 

Even though Anastasia and I were rarely photographed side-by-side, one person knew we were in love. The person who killed her. The person who wrecked me.

 

My pulse pounded in my wrists as I gripped the open locker door and gazed at the collage of junior year memories. Five girlfriends tangled in various poses covered the cold metal. But the dimpled smiles masked a lie in every photo.

 

Some things were best kept secret. Especially the details of a lesbian relationship. But even one truth cloaked, initiated a sticky web of lies.

 

I tore a picture from the center and pressed it between my index finger and thumb, coloring Ivy’s face with a black magic marker.

 

A girl hissed and shoved me forcefully into the magnetized “Bryn” mirror. My body jolted into the metal door and it clanked against the neighboring locker.

 

“First day jitters,” Ivy said.

 

My head snapped toward her voice. “Take your toxic behavior somewhere else.”

 

Her eyes met mine. Squinted. Bright blue yet somehow dark. Poisonous.

 

She grasped my arm and yanked me toward her. “I hold your destiny in my hands. Keep your mouth shut about the accident or the Andover High gossip mill will have several new juicy topics to discuss.” A cackle ripped through her lips as she waltzed away, glancing over her shoulder once.

 

A breath caught in my throat and my stomach lurched. The picture of us huddled by a campfire dropped from my fingertips. The fresh black marker swirl smeared across her face and pressed into my thumbprint.

 

 

4 Responses to “SVS AGENT ROUND Entry 6: Blackball – YA Contemporary LGBT”

  1. This query is cooler than the polar vortex! Please send the first 50 pages, synopsis and query to chquery [at] mcintoshandotis [dot] com

  2. Annie Bomke Says:

    Hand me some lemonade, because this entry is burning up! I’d love to see a query, synopsis and the first 50 pages. You can send them to submissions@abliterary.com.

  3. I feel a “flurry” of excitement reading your query! Please send 50 pages, a complete synopsis, and your query letter to rdugas[at]talcottnotch[dot]net.

  4. It may be sunny in MI, but this dark story is better suited for a cold winter day in MN. Please send the first 100 pgs to dawn AT redsofaliterary DOT com.


Leave a Reply

