chasingthecrazies

Chasing my crazy dream in the writing world…

WIPMARATHON CHECK-IN #2 August 17, 2013

 

There was a major distraction this week that killed my word count: WriteOnCon. It’s okay though, because while I didn’t squeeze in my word count each day, I did get amazing feedback on both my query and first five pages for my YA Mystery, Fighting Chance.  Now I’m back on track and have written 3k in the last two days.

 

Current word count:

 

28,500. Yep, I know what you’re thinking. Wasn’t she at 30K last week? I was, but then I decided to scrap two chapters (eeek!). I didn’t like where the story was headed and completely changed course. I’m much happier now with the direction of this manuscript.

 

 

WIP issues this week:

 

As mentioned above, I had an initial idea about the struggles I wanted my MC to go through. But when those struggles started to move her away from her love interest, things started to go south. So what did I do? I killed those darlings. And let me tell you, it was PAINFUL!

 

 

What I learned this week in writing:

 

It’s okay to rethink things and chart a new course for your story when you’re headed off track.  It is scary, but your manuscript will be infinitely better for it.

 

And just to continue the fun in regards to research…I visited an aviation museum yesterday and talked to a man who was a pilot in the Korean war. He was amazingly helpful and gave me a ton of info about flying which I’m excited to work into my manuscript.

 

 

What distracted me this week while writing:

 

WRITEONCON!

 

 

Last 200 words:

 

Farmland streams out for miles below us. Red barns and spinning windmills become small, dark pinpricks as we race higher into the atmosphere. Henry banks the Jenny left and I glance over my shoulder. An odd sense of pride washes over me as he handles the controls with skill.  We level out again and I close my eyes.  The whistle of the wind sings to me, its high-pitched whoosh echoing in my ears.  The air dances along my body, skimming my skin and pulling at the curls along my hairline.  Before I can stop it, a familiar electrical buzz races through me. The latch from my seat belt is undone and my boots are pressed against the seat. A nearby strut is cold in my hand and I’m out on the wing, gliding in the open air.

 

 

See other WIPMarathon-er updates here!

 

24 Responses to “WIPMARATHON CHECK-IN #2”

  1. catyorkc Says:

    I agree. I keep a scrap file for my “erasing”, but stepping backward is progress when you’re revising. Well done, Amy. 🙂

  2. Laurie Says:

    Changing direction and going back is difficult, but it’s worth it if that’s what’s needed! Glad you’re feeling good about the change. Your excerpt is wonderful and vivid!

  3. Sometimes you have to take a step backwards to progress forwards. It’s great that you’re happier with it now! Best of luck. 🙂

  4. amandashayne Says:

    “It’s okay to rethink things and chart a new course for your story when you’re headed off track. It is scary, but your manuscript will be infinitely better for it.” –I love this. I tend to forget that’s it’s okay to realize you were wrong when you planned something and that you need to make it right.

    I love your excerpt. It’s very beautiful!

  5. WriteOnCon killed my words this week too and killing darlings is tough. I do a copy and paste of the words that need to go, hoping I can use them later in something else. And I LOVE the 200. Very lyrical and smooth

  6. Writeoncon got me too! So distracting!

    Good luck next week.

  7. Love your excerpt! I know what you mean about it being painful to delete stuff. I’m glad you like the direction it’s going now, though. 🙂

  8. Your research sounds really fun! I hope I get round to working on something that would allow me to do that kind of research.

    Congrats on your feedback, too.

    I really like the excerpt. I don’t think I’ve ever read anything that tackles aviation but it is definitely appealing. Hope to see more at the next Check-In!

    • Hi Pagemistress:

      Thanks for your comments. Yes, the research is fun, but it’s also really hard to figure out how much to include, but I guess that’s what revisions are for! 😛

  9. Good for you! It’s so hard to scrap chapters but sometimes it’s just plum necessary!

  10. Sometimes stuff has to be axed! The writing sounds good so I guess your making the right decisions. I was sucked into writeoncon as well.

  11. krystal jane Says:

    It’s totally okay to change course. Sometimes it’s a must!
    I’m so behind. I’m still picking my way through WriteOnCon. It’s my first year knowing about it. I’m loving it!

    Congrats on the good feedback! 🙂

  12. michelle4laughs Says:

    You can do it! Cheer cheer! Now drop and give me 2K!

    Felt like you needed a push. 🙂


Leave a Reply

