chasingthecrazies

Chasing my crazy dream in the writing world…

Monday Musings: Why Querying Makes Me Feel Like I’ve Run A Marathon March 4, 2013

Anyone else feel completely exhausted after sending out a batch of queries? I literally feel like I’ve run a marathon, climbed a mountain, and biked 50 miles at the end of each day.

 

I’ve thought long and hard about this and can’t quite put my finger on the root of the problem.

 

Could it be my unadulterated focus on getting each letter right?

 

Perhaps it’s mindlessly checking the same letter over-and-over to make sure I’ve spelled the agent’s name right.

 

Or maybe it’s the constant worry that after I’ve pasted my pages into the body of an email, and hit “send,” it’s going to appear in an agent’s inbox looking like early egyptian hieroglyphics.

 

Honestly, I think it could be all the emotions running through my body at one time.  Stress, anticipation, excitement, joy, and fear all paired with a good dose of nausea.

 

How am I going to get through this process with my sanity intact? With good friends, a little chocolate and A LOT of wine.

 

The only problem?  The next phase is even more painful…the waiting.

 

Who else is in the query trenches?  Care to commiserate?

 

12 Responses to “Monday Musings: Why Querying Makes Me Feel Like I’ve Run A Marathon”

  1. Carissa Says:

    I AM QUERYING TOO. Ugh, yes … each time I send out a new batch I feel exhausted. I’ve only sent out four rounds and already I feel like kicking my ever-expanding word document of agent research into a dark corner and just going with a standard query for every single one.

    So this one wants the housekeeping first? This one wants it last? This one likes comparison titles? This one hates them? This one wants five pages, this one wants ten. This one mentioned wanting to read my genre in an interview….

    I research all of this. I carefully copy-paste pages of detailed notes. But is it honestly worth ALL THOSE HOURS? I really, really don’t know.

    • Hi Carissa:

      Thanks for your comment. Yes, I get caught up in all the details too and it’s hard to keep them all straight. I guess that’s why I only do them in batches of 5. That way my head won’t spin too much. Good luck 🙂

  2. theflameswithin Says:

    I SO know what you mean! I’ve been working on my query now for a weeks and I’ve only completed 3! Maybe that’s because I’ve been obsessing over this site – http://writeoncon.com/forum/forum.php – where you can post your query and people can comment on it (it’s bloody brilliant). But queries take time, I understand that. If only there was a way for an agent to give my query a big, fat A+ so I know its going to be a success!!

  3. lauralanni Says:

    Do not give up! All it takes is one lucky hit. Querying is fueled by hope and your unyielding belief in your book. It’s an uphill endurance race, all the way.

  4. Gwen Says:

    Mental exercises can be just as exhausting as physical ones. I say with querying, you only get one shot to make a good impression, so you probably just have to endure it (with that chocolate and wine as your big reward).

  5. deshipley Says:

    Oh, good — I thought I was the only one who got drained by sending out query letters. There are so many little things that could go wrong! And one big thing that could go right… Worry and tentative hope are exhausting. And no, the waiting doesn’t help!


Leave a Reply

