chasingthecrazies

Chasing my crazy dream in the writing world…

CHASING A GOOD READ – UNRAVEL ME By Tahereh Mafi February 25, 2013

Unravel Me

 

 

I have to admit  I was caught off guard when I started reading Tahereh Mafi’s initial installment of this series, SHATTER ME.  While I was intrigued by the plotline and the characters, I was a little thrown by the writing style.  I couldn’t help but wonder how Mafi could convince an agent to take her on when every other word in her manuscript looked like this. But then I got past the first chapter, and got used to the odd style, and by the third chapter I’m not even sure I noticed the strikethroughs anymore – the plot was THAT compelling.

 

With UNRAVEL ME, the story begins right where SHATTER ME ended with everyone at Omega Point readying for battle.  We know from the beginning there will be tension between Juliette and Adam, but we don’t know he is hiding a serious secret which later reveals the key to his own power.  It’s a successful way to add tension to the characters and it worked.

 

Of course, we can’t get through this story without Warner.  He becomes the catalyst for Juliette’s inner conflict, and adds an amazing amount of HEAT to the story (umm Hello, Page 290 – digital version).

 

I liked how this story built to a climax, and of course, I loved the character of Kenji, who added much needed comic relief to a constantly taut story.

 

The only problem I had with UNRAVEL ME was the inertia of Juliette’s character.  She seemed constantly rooted in one place and it took until the last chapter for her to really break free from her own chains.

 

A third book is on the horizon and I hope it will bring Juliette’s character full circle. My wish is that Mafi will allow Juliette to move beyond the “I don’t understand my feelings”-type of woman she’s become and let her blossom into the powerful character she was meant to be.

 

 

RATING: WORTH THE CHASE

 

2 Responses to “CHASING A GOOD READ – UNRAVEL ME By Tahereh Mafi”

  1. tpolen Says:

    I wanted to come by and let you know that I have nominated you for the Versatile Blogger Award. I know these awards can be a bit time consuming, so if you choose not to accept the award I understand. I will have the info up on my blog shortly. Either way, I enjoy your thoughts! http://www.teripolen.com


Leave a Reply

