chasingthecrazies

Chasing my crazy dream in the writing world…

FUN FACT FRIDAY January 18, 2013

Filed under: Blog,Writer,Writing Journey — chasingthecrazies @ 3:28 pm
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Do you have something in your past that helps form your stories?  A fun little nugget you hope to share with your children and grandchildren one day?

 

Today is Fun Fact Friday and I’m going to share one fun element from my life I hope to use one day in my writing.

 

Here it is…

 

My first job out of college I was an NBC page in Burbank, California.  Yes, a blue polyester coat-wearing, tour giving, info spouting, Page.

 

As a first job it was all kinds of awesome.  I ate in the cafeteria with the soap stars, walked through the lot and into the studios where they taped “The Tonight Show” and “Days of our Lives.”  I gave tours and talked about the long history of the network and the ever-evolving peacock symbol. And of course, I met some pretty cool celebrities – some of which had some very odd requests for their dressing rooms (but that’s a story for another time.)

 

I did the job for almost a year, but I didn’t want to be an actress or a producer, so I moved into advertising shortly thereafter. But the experience is something I’ll remember for a lifetime, and it may come in handy one day with a middle-grade story brewing in the back of my mind.

 

What about you?  What fun fact from your life will you try to incorporate into a story one day? I’d love to hear about it.

 

4 Responses to “FUN FACT FRIDAY”

  1. deshipley Says:

    My years of musical training have long colored my writing. A number of my characters have been musicians — more than one of them sharing the instruments I played longest, piano and clarinet. It seems that despite my hatred for practicing, music has nonetheless become a central part of me. (:

    • Hi de:

      I love that you weave your musical training into your writing. What an incredible way to use what you’ve spent your whole life learning and turn it into another art form. It’s truly inspiring!

  2. lnrussell Says:

    I worked at the Spokane International Airport, as a member of the custodial staff. Yeah, I learned a LOT during that brief stint in ‘things I never want to do again.’ I saw so many interesting people though- families, lovers, enemies and people just deciding where they fit into those categories. I saw hello’s, goodbye’s and many grandparent’s meeting grandchildren for the first time. That job taught me many lessons I rely on today.


Leave a Reply

