chasingthecrazies

Chasing my crazy dream in the writing world…

GUTGAA – Meet and Greet September 4, 2012

 

 

For those of you who are wondering what GUTGAA means, it is a program currently being hosted over on Deana Barhart’s blog. Essentially it is a premise organizing writers to Gear Up To Get An Agent – thus the acronym GUTGAA!

 

This week as part of the program, Deana is hosting a bloghop with all the participants.  Our marching orders are to introduce ourselves to fellow participants in a cyberspace meet and greet.  I’m looking forward to meeting fellow writers who are on the same quest as I am – connect with that ever-elusive agent who wants to represent your work.

 

Here are my details…

 

First off I must answer a frequent question I get about my blog –  what the *$#@ does the name mean? Well, honestly the title comes from an inside joke.  I have always done things in my own time and in my own way (this is what happens when you’re the youngest of five). I’ve never been afraid to take on challenges or new adventures no matter how crazy they might seem.

 

In my early twenties, I frequently just got in my car or hopped on a plane and went to new places all on my own.  After college, I drove to LA, and not really knowing a soul, got a job at NBC. It was a wild time and while many others questioned if I was “losing it,” I simply dug my heels in, because I knew I was on the adventure of a lifetime. So my blog name comes from my attempt to always “chase the crazy” dream I am plotting next – currently that is becoming a published author.

 

Where do I write?

 

I have a cozy place tucked away in my house that gets copious amounts of natural light and looks out onto a handful of citrus trees. I’ve tried to write in coffee shops and bookstores, but it never works for me. Unfortunately, I am way to easily distracted by the coffee aromas and the lure of a new hardback book.

 

At my writing space, if I look the left, what do I see?

 

A wall. Yes, I know, not very inspiring.

 

Favorite time to write?

 

Early morning – seems to be when my creative juices are always flowing.

 

Drink of choice?

 

Coffee – always.

 

Do you listen to music when you write or do you need complete silence?

 

It depends.  If I’m writing an action or love scene, that always seems to beg for music.  If it’s time to write a lot of dialogue though – there must be complete silence.

 

What was your inspiration for your latest manuscript?

 

I wish I had a good answer for this one.  I was in the middle of a fifth re-write on an alternate history story that I just couldn’t get to work, so I took a break.  During that time, I started fiddling with a couple of ideas and my current premise just sort of stuck with me.  The characters kept fleshing themselves out in my head, and finally I relented and started to tell their story.

 

What’s your most valuable writing tip?

 

I have two things:

 

One – always use beta readers and critique partners.  They will always see the holes and flaws in your stories and help make you a better writer.

 

Two – Read Noah Lukeman’s THE FIRST FIVE PAGES.  It is a must read for any writer.  I find myself going back to it constantly as a reference guide.

 

There you have it, me in a nutshell.  If you’re stopping by from the bloghop, please say “hello” in the comments.  I’d love to drop by your blog sometime!

 

18 Responses to “GUTGAA – Meet and Greet”

  1. E.b. Black Says:

    I kind of wish I was used to doing crazy things. It sounds like you know how to live life, while I’m just sitting here, trying not to feel crazy for embracing my dream to write. Maybe I should be enjoying embracing the crazy.

    • Yes, I was pretty crazy in my 20s, but by the time I got to my 30s I felt like I had accomplished so many things in my life. It’s good to get a little wild sometimes -you feel like you are getting the full life experience. I highly recommend it!

  2. Hi. I saw you were on the Pitch Polish blog hop, so I stopped by to see your pitch, but it’s not up yet. I decided to look here instead. But first let me say that I’m super sorry you had such an awful birthday!!!

    I LOVE the name of your blog and I’m so envious of all the adventures you had. I spent my whole twenties having babies. haha. Five kids was an adventure in and of itself I suppose, but I do kind of wish I’d done more with my younger years. However, you’re right. Trying to get published is definitely an adventure, so at least I’m having one now. I love Noah Lukeman’s book too. It was one of the first writing guides I ever got and has steadfastly remained one of my faves.

    Anyway, just wanted to say hi to another GUTGAA’er. 🙂 I’d love it if you’d stop by my blog. I just started it on Wed. (I got inspired by all the great blogs on GUTGAA) Best of luck with GUTGAA. I’ll make sure to come back and see if you have your pitch up. Nice to meet you!

    P.S. I tried to click the notify me of follow up comments and posts via email and it wouldn’t let me. Just thought I’d give you the heads up.

  3. Oops! I didn’t know I’d have to log in w/Facebook to comment. If you want to find my blog, it’s: http://kreftontheblock.blogspot.com/

  4. Hi there! I’m here via GUTGAA. I found your interview with Lydia Kang so interesting. Very nice blog!

  5. I’ve heard The First Five Pages is great so many times that I’m embarrassed I haven’t picked it up yet. Tomorrow maybe. 🙂
    I love the name of your blog!

  6. Good answers! Especially about CP/BR necessity. I have a few, and they have been fantastic!

    Good luck with GUTGAA!

    queenofpaddedroom.blogspot.com

  7. Great answers! I agree that beta readers and CPs are soooo very important. My CPs are amazing, and I don’t know what I’d do without them. Good luck with GUTGAA! Stop by my blog: jadziabrandli.blogspot.com

    • Thanks for stopping by Jadzia! My CPs are all over the country and they are an amazing crew who I know will always give me solid direction. I hope everyone is fortunate enough to find greats CPs like us!

  8. folioroad Says:

    Thanks for the book recommendation. I hadn’t heard of that one before. Nice to meet you and good luck with GUTGAA!

  9. michelle4laughs Says:

    Hey, a fellow ACQ friend. I’m in the contest too and saw your link for GUTGAA. I thought we better friend up!

  10. Hi there! I’m doing GUTGAA, too! And I read (and loved!) your query posted on AQ. Just wanted to say hello 🙂


Leave a Reply

