chasingthecrazies

Chasing my crazy dream in the writing world…

Chasing a Good Read May 1, 2012

As I mentioned in an earlier post I love YA books. As such,  I am going to begin reviewing new books as they release to the market. I may at times, step back and revisit older books as well, specifically those that I have truly enjoyed and have helped me improve my craft.

I am calling this review series “Chasing a Good Read” based on my blog name of “Chasing The Crazies.” Many of you have asked what this means and it is very simple, it means going after an impossible dream.  Reaching for something that other people deem “crazy” or impossible to achieve.

I have “chased the crazies” many times in my life:  getting on a plane in Arizona when I was 19 to travel to the east coast to work in the Pocono Mountains for a summer. Moving to LA after college to work at NBC as a page. Moving to Nashville, Tennessee where I didn’t know a soul. All things that everyone said I was  “crazy” to do, but brought incredible experiences and amazing people into my life.

So as I “Chase A Good Read”, I’ll let you know my thoughts on plot, characterization, and setting.  Then I will give the book an overall rating… “Worth the Chase,” “Almost Worth the Chase,” & “Not Worth the Chase.”

I hope you will follow along and let me know if you agree or disagree with my review.  There are many amazing YA books that are releasing over the next few months and I am thrilled to be able to share each one with you.

My first post in this series will begin tomorrow with Cassandra Clare’s CITY OF BONES, which was first released in 2007.  I am reviewing it in anticipation of the fifth book in this series, CITY of LOST SOULS, which is being released next Tuesday.

If you have already read this title, I hope you will let me know what you think. Are you excited for a fifth book in this series or do you think she is “jumping the shark” here? Let me know.

Amy

 

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,538 other followers