chasingthecrazies

Chasing my crazy dream in the writing world…

One small step… April 18, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized,writing — chasingthecrazies @ 11:15 pm

As I have mentioned in previous posts, I am new to the world of writing (about 2 years) and one of the most challenging things is getting your foot in the door with agents – many of whom receive as many as 200 queries a day.  Pretty amazing that there are so many writing brethren out there!

I am on manuscript number two now and am still working on finding an agent.  When I asked a local writing professor, who is also a published author, what the key was to getting an agent he said two things:

1) Go to conferences and make contacts

2) Try to establish some writing credits

So with that in mind, I entered my first contest for flash fiction at WOW!  Women on Writing website.  I just received notice that my entry has made the first cut and the competition is now down to 70 entries.  As this was my first foray into the world of writing competitions, I am very excited.  Just making the cut seems like a victory to me.

If I don’t make it beyond this cut, I’ll post the story here.  It was very emotional to write and has special meaning to me which I will elaborate on more if I do indeed post it.

So fellow writers how do you get noticed in the publishing world?  What is your platform?  I’d love to hear about it as I am always looking for new ways to learn and get the word out about my writing.

Amy

 

Leave a Reply

