chasingthecrazies

Just another WordPress.com site

Taking Inspiration To A Whole New Level – W.O.W. Celebration & Giveaway! November 20, 2013

WOW

(Amazing logo illustration courtesy of Roselle Kaes)

 

 

 

When I started this blog in early 2012, I had no clue what I was doing.  I wanted to post about my journey through the publishing world, but beyond that I had no idea what I would talk about or share during my regular posts.

 

After months of struggling with content, I started to think about what I wanted to see in other writers’ blogs. I knew I wanted to hear stories about early struggles, and how many manuscripts successful authors had written before they got “the call.” Then I started thinking about queries. Did agented writers struggle with their first drafts? Did they have critique partners or beta readers who helped them polish their manuscripts?

 

As I started to think about these questions, I knew I had an idea for an interview series. The only problem was who would I convince to talk to me? Writers are busy people. Could I get anyone to share their story?

 

Luckily enough I’d made some connections through AgentQuery Connect and I approached these writers first. My first interview was with RC Lewis, who had just signed with her agent for her YA manuscript, Stitching Snow. Once she said “yes”(Thanks, RC!) it gave me the confidence to reach out to other writers. And as they say, the rest is history.

 

Last Wednesday I published my 60th interview in the Writer Odyssey Wednesday (W.O.W.) series! You’d think that the ideas or the stories might get boring or tedious after so many interviews, but each author’s journey continues to amaze and inspire me. At this point, I can’t ever imagine not doing this series because there will always be an exciting story to tell!

 

To celebrate this exciting milestone, I am doing a HUGE giveaway, featuring writers who have appeared in the W.O.W. sometime in the last year and a half.

 

 

Here is what is up for grabs:

 

 

 

giveaway

 

 

BOOKS (Authors and their interview dates):

 

NOT A DROP TO DRINK – Mindy McGinnis (June 20, 2012)

ANTIGODDESS – Kendare Blake (August 8, 2012)

RED – Alison Cherry (September 12, 2012)

OLIVIA TWISTED – Vivi Barnes (September 18, 2013)

THINGS I CAN’T FORGET – Miranda Kenneally (January 2, 2013)

 

 

QUERY CRITIQUES FROM:

 

Dahlia Adler (March 6, 2013)

Vivi Barnes (September 18, 2013)

Jessica Lawson (October 16, 2013)

Stephanie Diaz (January 30, 2013)

Fizzygrrl (Summer Heacock) (February 6, 2013)

Michelle Krys (November 7, 2012)

 

THE DETAILS:

 

 

 

GIVEAWAY HAS ENDED!!!

To enter the giveaway, comment on the blog and tell me what was your favorite W.O.W. and why. Then leave your contact info and mention if you would prefer a book or a query critique. Giveaway will end at 5 p.m. EST on Friday, November 22.  Giveaway is open to residents of the U.S. and Canada only.

 

I also want to say a BIG “Thank You” to everyone who has ever read a post on this blog. I feel honored to be able to share my story and the journeys of all these talented writers with you. I hope you’ll return every week to check out all the new W.O.W.s I plan to share!

 

 

XOXO,

Amy

 

13 Responses to “Taking Inspiration To A Whole New Level – W.O.W. Celebration & Giveaway!”

  1. I really loved Mindy McGinnis’s W.O.W it’s so interesting to hear about the process of writing a manuscript. I can relate to writing and then getting frustrated and not knowing if I should continue. I think Mindy’s journey to getting published is really inspiring and it’s great that she mentors young writers.

    email- letty1614(at)yahoo(dot)com
    If I win I’d really love a book :)

  2. I love Alison Cherry’s interview because it’s always interesting to read about the decision to stop sending queries for a manuscript. I rarely read about someone regretting the decision to trunk a novel. Her story is inspiring, and I love the whole series. Thanks for what you do! I’d love to win a critique.

  3. michelle4laughs Says:

    Hey, looks like some great books to win! I’d prefer a book and you can reach me at Michelle9Hauck (at) aol (dot) com.

  4. Akoss Says:

    My favorite wow is the one with Jessica Lawson. I’d been following her blog way before she got an agent and a book deal so it was interesting to learn more about her behind the scenes.
    If I win I would love to get a book.
    my email: ankz272(at)gmail(dot)com

  5. Ann Vuong Says:

    Congratulations on the huge milestone you made! 60th W.O.W?!? That’s incredible. My favorite was of Jessica Sportswood that was done in September. I enjoy the Cahill Series and love her work. I also thought it was soooo funny how she accidentally hung up on her agent during the first call. haha Something I could see myself doing! ;)

    I would prefer a book. [ann] m [dot] vuong [at] gmail [dot] com

  6. My favorite W.O.W was Summer Heacock aka Fizzygrrl because it gives me some hope for a past trunked novel. I’m not going to pull it out now, but to know you can fix something after you’ve grown and gained experience as a writer is inspiring. prernapickett at yahoo.com and I would love a query crit!

  7. My favorite W.O.W was with Authoress. I loved getting a glimpse of what she went through to get an agent. I liked that she shared her struggles along with her success story. The emotions she’s felt are often one’s I’ve had to, so I could relate to her in that way.

    I would love to win a book! Most of those have been on my to-read list! If I win, you can contact me at awsome1661@hotmail.com

    Thanks so much for all your great content and for putting on this contest!

  8. Dahlia Adler Says:

    Hoping I’m allowed to enter even though I’m one of the W.O.W. authors! There are two W.O.W. interviews I absolutely love – Brandy Colbert’s, because I think she so perfectly nails why there’s so much truth in “it only takes one” and why it’s worth persevering through the pain and disappointment (plus I am SO excited for her book!) and Megan Whitmer’s, because I think it’s a great look at the importance of community and partnership in the effort to get published. (And I’d love a book! I already own RED and OLIVIA TWISTED but would love any of the other 3!)

  9. krystal jane Says:

    If I have to pick a favorite interview it’s a tie between A.G Howard and Lauren Kate. I feel like we’re all similarly inspired and that gives me hope for my own work one day. ^_^

    I’m leaning towards a query critique. ^_^

  10. I LOVED Leigh Ann Kopan’s W.O.W. series. Hearing about her determination and perseverance after so many queries that were unsuccessful… It’s so impressive she didn’t get discouraged or give up (and I’m glad, since I loved ONE!)

    Please keep up the W.O.W series, and congrats on making it this far! I love you entire blog and read it regularly!

    And I’d love to win a book for some snowy reading ;-)

  11. My favorite W.O.W. Is Summer Heacock. I could just picture her squeeing with delight and found her description of nearly having a squee aneurism pretty funny. I love this series! Hearing from writers who have been through this journey is both insightful and inspiring. I can be reached on Twitter @missriki7 and would love to win a book! I’m not quite prepared for a query critique just yet!

  12. tpolen Says:

    One of my favorites (there are so many) was Bethany Crandell. It was one of those days where I’d gotten a couple of rejections on my query, thought about giving up, and then read that Bethany had queried around 90 agents and loved that she still had a sense of humor about it all. She encouraged me to keep trying. tpolen6@gmail.com – would love a query critique!

  13. Marlene Moss Says:

    My favorite interview was Fizzygrrl’s. Love her. Love her blog. Since I just discovered this blog a few months ago, I went back and read some of the previous interviews and Summer’s was definitely one I hunted down.

    I’d love to get a query critique as I am 2 weeks away from the final polish on my ms and plan to start querying (unless I find another excuse for an umpteenth round of editing). But I wouldn’t mind winning any of those books either! Especially NOT A DROP TO DRINK.


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,206 other followers