chasingthecrazies

Just another WordPress.com site

Thanksgiving Blog Hop – Day 4 November 19, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — chasingthecrazies @ 2:02 pm
Tags: , , , , , , ,

 

 

Day 4 – I am grateful for…books!

 

 

Yep, I know what you’re thinking. You’re a writer –  you better love books.

 

 

Sure, I know it’s a given but to me books are like oxygen.  I must read them, not only to hone my own craft, but because they KEEP ME SANE.  They are my warm milk at night. I simply can’t go to sleep unless I’ve read for at least 20 minutes. There is something about shutting off my brain and immersing myself in another world that allows my body to shut down and relax.

 

 

If I say I’m grateful for books, then I have to acknowledge my mom. My entire childhood she was always reading. At the beach, all day gymnastics competitions, and especially on a lazy Sunday; she always had her nose in a book.  There wasn’t a week when she didn’t take me to the library to check out something new.  I was motivated to learn cursive just so I could get my first library card and sign my name properly. She IS the reason, I love books. Thanks, Mom :)

 

 

So what books am I grateful for?  There are many, but this post can’t be 10,000 words long, so I’ll choose just a few:

 

 

1) TO KILL A MOCKINGBIRD

 

 

 

 

Harper Lee, thank you for showing me how intense and yet beautiful a story can be.  Your novel is simply perfection and convinced me  I wanted to be a writer.

 

 

2) HARRY POTTER AND THE SORCERER’S STONE

 

 

 

 

A given choice for writers. But at a time when I was deep in my career, and thought I had no time for leisurely reading, this book reminded me what I loved about children’s literature and got me reading for pure joy again.

 

 

3) CITY OF BONES

 

 

 

 

The first book in The Mortal Instruments series.  I’ve read this book five times and it NEVER gets old.  Why? Amazing world-building and a cast of characters so vividly painted, I’m in complete awe (and a little bit jealous) of Cassandra Clare every time I read it.

 

 

What books have impacted your life? Are there stories you read over and over? I’d love to hear about them in the comments.

 

 

One last note… this will be my only post for the week.  Happy Thanksgiving to you all. I hope you get to spend a restful day with family and/or friends!

 

 

Next Monday will be my 100th post.  Check back then for details on some cool giveaways!!!

 

4 Responses to “Thanksgiving Blog Hop – Day 4”

  1. I love this! Books are the best thing in the world! I’m definitely thankful for them as well. I love falling into the worlds within them :)

  2. I’m thankful for books too! I LOVE all three of those books. Happy Thanksgiving and thank you for participating in the blog hop! <3

    • Hi Brenda:

      I have really enjoyed participating in this hop. Thank you so much for thinking of it! It’s been nice to reflect back on all the things I am so grateful for. Happy Thanksgiving to you too!


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,209 other followers