chasingthecrazies

Just another WordPress.com site

Thanksgiving Blog Hop #3 November 15, 2012

 

 

Day #3 – I’m grateful for…OTHER WRITERS

 

I was TERRIFIED when I first started this blog.  What did I have to say to other aspiring writers that they didn’t already know?  I made a decision then that this blog was simply going to be an outlet for me and my writing - nothing else.

 

But then a funny thing happened. I started networking, participating in AgentQuery Connect (which also terrified me at first), and reaching out to other authors for advice.

 

What I found was an amazing, supportive community who was honestly interested in teaching newbies like me about the wild world of publishing.  In the last year alone, I feel like I’ve earned a four-year college degree in what it takes to get published. And my professors?  All the other authors who’ve taken time to teach me about what makes a good pitch and how to stay away from things like the dreaded passive voice.

 

Online friends have taught me how to hone my query.  Some authors who live in far-flung places, have offered to read and critique my short stories.  Other authors simply said “Yes” when I asked them to participate in my Writer Odyssey Wednesday series (Thanks R.C. Lewis and Mindy McGinnis for being my willing guinea pigs!) And when I struggled with revisions, I called on others for solid advice (Thanks MarcyKate Connolly and Katie French!)

 

At the beginning of next month, I will post my 100th blog entry. I can’t believe it’s 100!  This year has flown by and so has the time I’ve spent creating this blog – and I’ve LOVED every single moment.

 

So to all those aspiring writers out there like me, I encourage you to reach out to the writing community if you have a question.  Join a forum like AQC and get help.  Go to conferences and ask other authors questions.  I guarantee, you will be immersed in a world where other writers want to help you make your work the best it can be!

 

 

What about you?  What are you thankful for this holiday season? Leave me a comment and let me know.  And if you’ve had another author help guide you in your writing, give them a “shout out” in the comments.  I’d love to hear about it!

 

6 Responses to “Thanksgiving Blog Hop #3”

  1. ebblack Says:

    I am SO thankful for all the people I’ve met in the writing community and AQConnect as well. When I first joined that forum I was extremely terrified as well. I’m not new to the internet. I’ve been flamed and harassed a ton of times. I even was a member of another writer’s forum for awhile where people were less than mature. So I expected people to be petty and mean to each other in the writing community and on AQC.

    After awhile, I let my guard down and started to relax and make friends. It has been a wonderful experience and all of you are part of my every day life. I’m very appreciative of all of you as well.

  2. It amazing the support that is out there. All a writer has to do is put themselves out there, reach out, participate in writing events, and learn from the experience. When I came out of my cave, I was amazed at the writers on Querytracker and Agent Query received me. My motto is “give back”. ;)

  3. myupsndowns Says:

    I wrote a similar blog this morning about being grateful for those who have inspired me who I’ve never met in person! :) What a wonderful thing social media can be!


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,564 other followers