chasingthecrazies

Just another WordPress.com site

A Meaningful Blog Hop November 9, 2012

 

 

2011 was not a good year for my family.  In September alone, we had our beloved pet die unexpectedly, and two family members get incredibly sick – both of which required hospitalization, and then months, which will now turn into years, of treatment.  So needless to say, I was happy to kiss last year goodbye.

 

2012 has been infinitely better. My family members are doing well, and no new dog yet, but it may happen some time in the future.

 

It goes without saying that this year has been much better than the last – and for that I am sincerely grateful – which leads to the new blog hop I’ve decided to join.

 

Author Brenda Drake has designated the next several weeks to encouraging bloggers to post what they are most appreciative of this holiday season. It’s a chance to recognize all those things we are blessed with and most likely don’t have time to recognize during the year.

 

Today, I am grateful for…

 

My family who is always supportive of everything I do…

 

When I decided to train for a 1/2 marathon they said, “go for it” – although they were skeptical I would actually pull it off  (which I DID)

 

When I finally confessed I was writing a book they didn’t say “What are you crazy?” they just said, “We always knew you were a writer.”

 

And when my short story, “Emanate” was recently published (as part of “The Fall” anthology), they cheered and celebrated like I’d won an Academy Award.

 

Celebrating family is something I think we should do every day, but I know we get too caught up in life to do that. But at least for today, I hope I can honor them in some small way by saying, “thank you,” “I love you,” and I’m eternally grateful to call you my own.

 

How about you?  What are you grateful for this holiday season?  I’d love to hear from you , or better yet, join the hop and let the blogosphere know what you are celebrating this time of year.

 

8 Responses to “A Meaningful Blog Hop”

  1. sarahjclift Says:

    I couldn’t keep my sanity without my wonderfully supportive family! And bravo on the 1/2 marathon!

  2. Supportive families are really the best blessing ever, aren’t they? I’m glad your 2012 has been so much better than 2011!

  3. Awww…gotta love family and congrats on your short story!!!

  4. How cool is that? You finished a marathon! I love how supportive your family is and that they get excited for your accomplishments. Thanks for joining in the blog hop. I love reading about what others are thankful for. It’s such a refreshing tone after the craziness of the elections. ;)


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,053 other followers