chasingthecrazies

Just another WordPress.com site

The Next Big Thing Blog Hop November 2, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — chasingthecrazies @ 8:18 pm
Tags: , , , , , ,

 

 

I was graciously invited by the amazing, Alexandra Tys O’Connor, my anthology sister in THE FALL, to jump on the wagon for the latest blog hop called, “The Next Big Thing.”  Happy to take up the challenge, I was excited to read the questions and then provide my own answers…

 

 

What is the working title of your book?

 

Right now, it’s FIGHTING CHANCE – but of course, that is always subject to change!

 

 

Where did the idea come from for the book?

 

Strangely enough the idea came from a song by Neon Trees called, “Girls and Boys in School.”  I kept thinking about the push and pull in relationships and the idea just popped into my head.

 

 

 

 

What genre does your book fall under?

 

This book is a YA Contemporary Thriller.

 

 

Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?

 

Blech! I really do not like this question.  I know people like to have a visual when they read but truly the characters in this book are my own vision.  I’m not really sure I could think up true living embodiments of the characters, especially Garren, who is entirely unique on his own.

 

 

What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?

 

Nica McDonald talks better with her fists than her mouth, so when the local bully winds up dead, and she becomes the prime suspect, she fights to clear her name, and unmask the real killer, before he takes out his next victim…her.

 

 

Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?

 

Right now, the book is in final edits and moving into the query stage. I’m hoping I will eventually work with an agent to get it published.

 

 

How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?

 

Six months for the first draft and another four months for edits.

 

 

What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

 

I use Lisa and Laura Roecker’s LIAR SOCIETY and Jill Hathaway’s SLIDE as comps.

 

 

Who or What inspired you to write this book?

 

This manuscript is my third completed novel.  I always write strong female characters but this time I wanted to write one that was seriously flawed and had to get out of her own way to save herself.

 

 

What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

 

Besides the mystery elements, there is a true friendship built between Nica and her friend, Braeden that becomes the real heart of the story.  I think readers will also like how I’ve turned the idea of what it means to be a protector upside down.

 

 

So now it’s my turn to tag two more amazing YA authors I think you should check out!

 

Katie French, who just recently released her self-published title, THE BREEDERS, and is a contributor to Underground Book Reviews.

 

Precy Larkins, whose debut manuscript, HIDDEN, is represented by Julia A. Weber of Literaturagentur GmbH

 

2 Responses to “The Next Big Thing Blog Hop”

  1. Love the concept for your WIP! Thanks for the tag! :)


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,562 other followers