chasingthecrazies

Just another WordPress.com site

THE VERY BAD, ROTTEN, NO GOOD BIRTHDAY September 7, 2012

Filed under: Blog,Writer,writing — chasingthecrazies @ 5:48 pm
Tags: , , , , , ,

 

 

Today has been a day like no other and I’m not even to lunch yet.  I woke to a very, anxious husband who informed me I had a flat tire.  In addition, my house in being torn up for new flooring and it’s pouring down rain outside. Rain + Humidity+ Wood = NO GOOD.

 

 

To top it all off, when I tried to get said car with VERY flat tire (thanks to the 4 inch piece of steel jammed into the wheel bed) out of the garage, the BRAND NEW door would not go up.  Well, no that’s not correct – it would go up 3 inches before slamming back into the ground.  A very interesting symphony paired with the roaring thunder and rattling lightning going on in the skies above my house.

 

 

So after dealing with a very cranky, tow truck driver, and getting my car to the tire repair store, I had to ride my bike home – wait for it….in the POURING rain.

 

 

Oh, and did I mention it’s my birthday today?

 

 

Honestly, if I had written all this for a character in a book, I know all my CPs would be sending me notes saying – “it’s highly unbelievable that all this would happen to one character in such a short amount of time.”  Unfortunately, I have the story now to prove them all wrong.

 

 

Good thing that with age comes an ever-growing sense of humor.  On days like this where you have two choices: laugh or cry.  I choose to whole-heartedly belly laugh!

 

 

Hope you all have a great weekend!

 

 

The growing pond in my front yard!

 

12 Responses to “THE VERY BAD, ROTTEN, NO GOOD BIRTHDAY”

  1. […] So with my birthday rearing its ugly head tomorrow, I’ve decided to take the positive high road, and look back at everything good that has happened this year, because my birthday last year – it kind of sucked (read about it here). […]

  2. Misha Says:

    OMG that’s just horrid! I’m glad you could see the humor in it, though. And a belated Happy Birthday to you! :-)

  3. Visiting from GUTGAA and I can’t believe how your day started! So sorry, but Happy Birthday!!!! On day like that, I just stay home and wait for tomorrow. Unless of course my kids need to go somewhere, in which case I drive very carefully and very slowly. Good to meet you!

    • Tracy, thanks for your kind comments!
      I’m a big believer that every cloud has a silver lining. And the day ended much better than it started!
      Thanks for stopping by and good luck with GUTGAA.

  4. Someday’s just seem to go badly, the good news is that things are bound to turn around before too long. I sincerely hope the rest of your birthday is better.

  5. Checking in from GUTGAA to wish you a happy day after your birthday! Look at it this way, yesterday is now officially over. The world is still turning and you get to escape to a world where a bunch of writers will lift you up and carry you around on their metaphorical shoulders while a band plays, “She’s a jolly good fellow.” On a more serious note, I hope today is better and you find humor in the past!

  6. Happy birthday to you! Glad you can laugh it off! Good luck with GUTGAA!

  7. Wow! I’m so sorry your birthday ended up like that. (Happy birthday, btw) I hope the rest of your day goes by much better.

    -Caterina Torres


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,564 other followers