chasingthecrazies

Just another WordPress.com site

…And Then It Was A Good Day August 23, 2012

 

 

On days when I *headdesk* and think I can’t write another word, I want to give up.  I gnash my teeth and wonder, “what the heck am I doing? Is anyone ever going to read my work?  Am I making any contribution?”

 

 

I’ve had many days like that recently and then there was today. A monumental teeth gnashing, head-banging, curse at the top of my lungs sort of day, and then this was posted on Lisa and Laura Roecker’s blog  – Lisa and Laura Write:

 

 

Maybe someone needs this today. WE DID.

 

Amy over at Chasing the Crazies recently asked us the following question:

 

 

Was there ever a time you thought about giving up on your writing dream? If so, what motivated you to keep writing?

 

 

Here’s a sneak peak of our answer:

 

 

Many, many times. Just last night Lisa called me and said she wanted to give up. When I asked her why, she said she felt like we could never be good enough. We commiserated for approximately 2 hours (our standard phone call length) and hung up with a renewed sense of hope. Yes, there are incredible, fantastic, award-winning, we-bow-down-to-you-genius-writer books out there. Books that make you want to hold the delete button, slam your laptop shut and GIVE UP. Will our books be amongst them? Maybe? Never? Definitely? In our dreams? Who knows! The beauty is in the trying. If you give up, you’ll never know if you could have gotten there! One of the best parts about writing is that there is no race. People will always need books to read. As a result, people count on us to get better (or something like that). None of our books will ever be as perfect as we want them to be. In fact, we have a pact to NEVER read a final copy of the published book. There’s just no way we wouldn’t want to change something and that would kill us in a very slow and painful way. So we write. And we delete. And we re-write. And we complain. But at the end of the day we hope. Because you just never know. That next big book could be right around the corner. And I don’t know about you, but I want to be a part of it.

 

 

 

…And then the angels sang and I was inspired to write again.

 

 

 

Thank you! Thank you! Thank you, ladies. I owe you one!

 

 

 

P.S. Check back in September when I post Lisa and Laura’s entire W.O.W. interview. It’s one you won’t want to miss!

 

5 Responses to “…And Then It Was A Good Day”

  1. Donna Martin Says:

    Greetings!

    I’m hopping over from GUTGAA and wanted to visit some blogs before the fun begins! Nice to meet you…you have a lovely blog!

    Donna L Martin
    http://www.donnalmartin.com
    http://www.donasdays.blogspot.com

  2. Aw, thanks so much for this post, Amy. I think it’s important for every writer to remember that we ALL have these days. But we’re all still here, right? We don’t ever quit. And that’s the real trick. Writing and writing and writing and never giving up. Even if we like to pretend we’re going to every once in a while. I mean, we’re writers! We have to indulge in a little drama every once in a while. Thanks so much for featuring us on your blog. We’re so happy you emailed us!

  3. I hope we all get the chance to write that ‘next big book’ someday.


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,209 other followers