chasingthecrazies

Just another WordPress.com site

Too Many To Choose From May 14, 2012

Filed under: Blog,Publishing,Writers Resources,writing,YA Book Reviews — chasingthecrazies @ 9:00 pm
Tags: , , , ,

This time of year is truly fun for both a writer and a reader. Numerous new books, as well as sequels, are entering the YA marketplace, and I find myself at the cyberspace bookstore almost every day downloading some new title I am eager to read.

It makes it especially hard to write during these times when you are itching to get back to your iPad (or Kindle or good old hardback as some prefer) to read the next chapter in one of these enthralling books.

Currently I am reading three (yes, three) books at once. PURE by Julianna Baggott, UNDER THE NEVER SKY by Veronica Rossi and CITY OF LOST SOULS by Casssandra Clare. Honestly, I couldn’t have picked three more different books if I tried.  All are completely amazing and take me to a totally different world – which I love as a reader and envy as a writer.

Some people ask how I can keep all the characters and storylines straight and I laugh.  If they only understood a writers brain they would get it. We’ve got several plots, numerous characters and different settings rolling around our brain continuously so moving from book to book is pretty easy.

So I’d be interested to hear from anyone who reads several books at once. Do you move from fiction to non-fiction? Do you stay in the same genre? And if you are a writer, do new books fire you up to get back to writing or do they pull you away so you can travel into someone else’s life for a while?

I’ll be interested to hear what you have to say.

Amy

 

2 Responses to “Too Many To Choose From”

  1. Hello!

    Currently I am also reading three books at once but they’re all in the same genre (fiction). I don’t like moving from fiction to non-fiction. You are right about keeping all of the storylines and characters straight, most of the times they’re so different you can’t mix them up. I usually read only a book at a time but since I discovered the book blogging world a few weeks ago I found out about so many great books and my ‘to be read’ list is getting huge!

    Ana Maria


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,023 other followers