chasingthecrazies

Just another WordPress.com site

Confessions of a YA Junkie April 24, 2012

Ok, so I’ll fess up…I am Amy and I am a Young Adult junkie.  Yes, I’ll freely admit it I like YA books.  Give me fantasy, paranormal, paranormal romance, dystopia – you name it,  I’ll probably like it as long as it is well written. I also consider it part of my job as an aspiring YA writer to know what is going on in the marketplace – so of course I have to read everything I can get my hands on.

Why as an over 30 woman do I like these “teenager” books – as my husband snidely calls them.  It’s simple – in many ways I still see myself as a teenager. No, I don’t dress or act like one (which my 11 year-old appreciates) but I love the music, the angst, and the memories of first love as I’m sure most YA readers do.

That why I think, in my humble opinion, this genre is exploding because many women feel this way.  Look at any successful YA book out there – it’s most likely penned by an older woman – Suzanne Collins, Stephenie Meyer, Holly Black & Cassandra Clare just to name a few. And, I know as a member of a book club and several woman’s groups that this is the genre most women are turning to now for a good read.  Forget upscale literary fiction or romance, a lot of women between the ages of 21 – 35 are now found lurking in the YA section of most bookstores.

So for those of you who aren’t afraid of outing themselves like me – I am going to begin a once a week look at YA fiction (past and present) and discuss what I see, as purely a reader, are some good trends, some really bad ones, and premises that I hope are here to stay.

So come follow me.  I am sure there will be some picks you agree with and some you will not.  I’d love to hear all your feedback.

Amy

 

6 Responses to “Confessions of a YA Junkie”

  1. [...] Confessions of a YA Junkie (chasingthecrazies.wordpress.com) [...]

  2. First of all: I totally feel you and totally agree – I love reading YA. And I love writing it. And, rather than giving my own explanation as to why, I’m going to hit you with my favorite picture ever:

    Boom! We are not alone.


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,189 other followers